Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Book writing software

Best Book Writing Software: 12 Apps Compared by Price, Features and Reviews

We scored 12 book writing apps with one formula: what a year of use costs, which file formats and devices they support, what Trustpilot reviewers say, and how many people search for them. Prices were checked on each vendor’s site on October 2, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 2, 2026 · Scores computed by formula, not paid for

The short answer

No single app suits every author, but the data points to a few clear choices:

  • Free, with ebook and print files: Reedsy Studio. Its free plan typesets a print-ready PDF and an EPUB in the browser.
  • Free, for worldbuilding: Campfire, the top score in this group. Its free plan caps the manuscript at 25,000 words, 10 characters and 2 maps.
  • Pay once, write for years: Scrivener at $59.99 per computer, with a 30-day trial.
  • Write and format in one app: Atticus, $147 once for drafting plus ebook and print formatting.
  • Plan before you draft: Plottr, with the highest Trustpilot rating that counts in this group.
  • AI drafting help: Sudowrite, the one app in the set built around AI for fiction.

Book writing software compared

Sorted by BookBird Score. “Price from” is the plan the score’s Value part uses: the cheapest way to pay for a year.

SoftwareScorePrice fromPricingPlatformsExportsFree trial
1. Campfire7.9Free plan; paid from $12 a monthFree plan + paid plansweb, Mac, Windows, iOS, AndroidPDF, EPUBFree plan instead
2. Scrivener7.6$59.99 one-timeOne-time licenceWindows, Mac, iOSEPUB, PDF, Word30 days
3. Reedsy Studio7.3Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on)Free plan + paid planswebPDF (print-ready), EPUB30 days (add-ons)
4. LivingWriter7.2Free plan; paid from $15 a monthFree plan + paid plansweb, Windows, Mac, iOS, AndroidDOCX, PDF, EPUB, Amazon KDP7 days ($0.99)
5. Atticus7.0$147 one-timeOne-time licenceWindows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook, webEPUB, PDF, DOCXNone (30-day money-back guarantee)
6. Plottr6.9$150 one-time (lifetime)Subscription, lifetime optionWindows, Mac, webWord, Scrivener30 days
7. Microsoft Word6.8Free plan; paid from $179.99 one-timeSubscriptionWindows, Mac, iOS, Android, webNot stated1 month (Microsoft 365)
8. Google Docs6.2FreeFreeweb, iOS, AndroidPDF14 days (paid Workspace plans)
9. Novlr6.0Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly)Free plan + paid plans, lifetime optionwebNot statedFree plan instead
10. Ulysses5.8$39.99 a yearSubscriptionMac, iOSPDF, Word, ebookYes, length not stated
11. Dabble4.8$19 a monthSubscription, lifetime optionWindows, Mac, Linux, web, iOS, AndroidWord, text, Google Docs14 days
12. Sudowrite4.2$10 a month (billed yearly)SubscriptionwebNot statedYes, length not stated

Prices in USD as shown on each vendor’s site on October 2, 2026. Score out of 10, computed as described in How the score works.

1. Campfire

7.9

BookBird Score · writing software · #1 of 12

Best for: Worldbuilders who want characters, maps and timelines next to the draft

  • Value25/25
  • Features23/30
  • Reputationnot scored
  • Demand7.1/15
Plans (USD)
  • Free (limited modules: e.g. 25,000 manuscript words, 10 characters, 2 maps)
  • Standard Monthly: $12 a month (list price $19)
  • Standard Annual: price in USD not confirmed
  • Standard Lifetime: price in USD not confirmed
  • Build Your Own: price in USD not confirmed
Free trial
Free plan instead
Platforms
web, Mac, Windows, iOS, Android
Exports
PDF, EPUB
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Collaboration
Trustpilot
No profile
US searches a month
2,900 (“campfire writing”)

Reputation is left out: there is no Trustpilot profile.

Campfire: price, features and score

Campfire is a writing app built around worldbuilding. Next to the manuscript editor sit modules for characters, timelines, maps, calendars, an encyclopedia, magic systems, languages, species and cultures, plus relationship webs that show how characters connect. It runs in the browser, as an offline desktop app and as a mobile app, and exports print-ready PDF or EPUB.

Who it suits: fantasy and science fiction writers who keep a story bible and want it beside the draft rather than in a separate document. Unlimited collaborators can view, comment or edit, which helps co-writers and beta readers.

What it lacks: DOCX export is not listed, and there are no writing goals or word-count stats in its feature list. Annual and lifetime prices were shown to us only in Polish zloty, so the only confirmed USD price is $12 a month. Campfire has no Trustpilot profile, so its score is calculated without Reputation.

2. Scrivener

7.6

BookBird Score · writing software · #2 of 12

Best for: Long manuscripts written in pieces, then compiled to Word, EPUB or PDF

  • Value23.2/25
  • Features22.8/30
  • Reputation20.2/30
  • Demand9.6/15
Plans (USD)
  • Standard Licence for macOS: $59.99 one-time
  • Standard Licence for Windows: $59.99 one-time
  • Scrivener 3 for macOS and Windows (bundle): $95.98 one-time
  • Scrivener for iPad and iPhone: $23.99 one-time (price printed on store page as US$23.99; sold separately per platform)
  • Educational Licence (macOS / Windows): price in USD not confirmed
Free trial
30 days
Platforms
Windows, Mac, iOS
Exports
EPUB, PDF, Word
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
4.3 from 23 reviews
US searches a month
49,500 (“scrivener”)

Scrivener: price, features and score

Scrivener is built for long manuscripts written out of order. You write in sections of any size, rearrange them in an outline or on a corkboard, keep research such as PDFs and images inside the project, and compile the whole book to Word, PDF or EPUB with formatting presets applied at the end. It also has word-count and deadline targets, a distraction-free mode, and scriptwriting formats.

Who it suits: authors who want to pay once and own the software. A Mac or Windows licence costs $59.99, both together $95.98, and the iPad and iPhone version is $23.99 on its own. The 30-day trial is long enough to draft a few chapters.

What it lacks: there is no Android or browser version, and collaboration and cloud sync do not appear in its feature list. Each platform is a separate purchase. Its Trustpilot rating (4.3) comes from only 23 reviews, so the weighting pulls it toward the middle.

3. Reedsy Studio

7.3

BookBird Score · writing software · #3 of 12

Best for: Drafting and typesetting a book in the browser, free

  • Value25/25
  • Features18.6/30
  • Reputationnot scored
  • Demand7.7/15
Plans (USD)
  • Standard: Free
  • Craft add-on: $4.99 a month
  • Craft add-on: $52.99 a year (list price $59.88)
  • Outlining add-on: $7.99 a month
  • Outlining add-on: $95.88 a year (before the 10% annual discount; discounted figure not displayed for this add-on alone)
Free trial
30 days (add-ons)
Platforms
web
Exports
PDF (print-ready), EPUB
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Collaboration, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
4.7 from 1,988 reviews (whole Reedsy company (marketplace, Discovery, Studio), not Studio alone; not scored)
US searches a month
5,400 (“reedsy book editor”)

Reputation is left out: the Trustpilot profile rates the whole company (whole Reedsy company (marketplace, Discovery, Studio), not Studio alone).

Reedsy Studio: price, features and score

Reedsy Studio, formerly the Reedsy Book Editor, is a free browser app that covers drafting and typesetting. You can import a manuscript, organize it into sections, chapters and scenes with front and back matter, and export a print-ready PDF and an EPUB without paying. Real-time collaboration includes comments and tracked changes, and you can share a read-only preview with beta readers.

Who it suits: first-time self-publishers who want one free tool from draft to files they can upload to Amazon KDP. The paid add-ons are optional: Craft at $4.99 a month or $52.99 a year, Outlining at $7.99 a month, with a 30-day trial.

What it lacks: it works only in a browser, and DOCX export is not listed. Reedsy’s 4.7 Trustpilot rating covers the whole company, including its marketplace of editors and designers, so it is not counted here.

4. LivingWriter

7.2

BookBird Score · writing software · #4 of 12

Best for: Outlining and drafting on every platform, with optional AI

  • Value25/25
  • Features28/30
  • Reputation12.9/30
  • Demand6.4/15
Plans (USD)
  • Free
  • Pro: $15 a month
  • Pro + AI: $30 a month
Free trial
7 days ($0.99)
Platforms
web, Windows, Mac, iOS, Android
Exports
DOCX, PDF, EPUB, Amazon KDP
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Collaboration, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
2.4 from 17 reviews
US searches a month
1,300 (“livingwriter”)

LivingWriter: price, features and score

LivingWriter combines outlines, story templates and boards for planning, research and story elements with a manuscript editor. It runs on the web, Windows, Mac, iOS and Android, and lists exports to DOCX, PDF, EPUB and Amazon KDP. The Pro + AI plan adds AI rewrites, outlines, analysis and a chat about your manuscript.

Who it suits: writers who move between a laptop and a phone and want planning and drafting in one place. It earns the highest Features score in this group, 28 of 30.

What it lacks: the free plan exports only a basic PDF; print-ready files need Pro at $15 a month. Annual prices were not shown, and the 7-day trial costs $0.99. Its Trustpilot rating is 2.4 from 17 reviews, which is why its total sits below apps with fewer features.

5. Atticus

7.0

BookBird Score · writing software · #5 of 12

Best for: Writing and formatting in one app, paid for once

  • Value20.7/25
  • Features18.8/30
  • Reputation24.5/30
  • Demand6.2/15
Plans (USD)
  • Atticus (eBook and Print): $147 one-time (includes all future updates)
Free trial
None (30-day money-back guarantee)
Platforms
Windows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook, web
Exports
EPUB, PDF, DOCX
Checklist
Cloud sync or backup
Trustpilot
4.4 from 200 reviews
US searches a month
1,000 (“atticus book formatting”)

Atticus: price, features and score

Atticus is a writing editor and a book formatter in one app. One file produces both an ePub and a print-ready PDF, with 17 chapter themes, a custom theme builder, previews on Kindle, Kobo, Nook and Apple devices, and support for full-bleed images and footnotes. It runs on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook as a web app that also works offline.

Who it suits: self-publishers who want to format their own ebooks and paperbacks and would rather pay once. The $147 licence includes future updates and unlimited books and pen names.

What it lacks: as a writing tool it is thin. Its feature list has no outlining, notes, writing goals or collaboration, which is why it scores 18.8 of 30 on Features here and much higher as a formatter. There is no free trial, only a 30-day money-back guarantee. See Atticus vs Vellum for its formatting side.

6. Plottr

6.9

BookBird Score · writing software · #6 of 12

Best for: Planning a plot or a whole series on a visual timeline

  • Value20.6/25
  • Features15.8/30
  • Reputation25.3/30
  • Demand7.1/15
Plans (USD)
  • Plottr: $60 a year (list price $80)
  • Plottr: $150 one-time (lifetime; list price $199)
  • Plottr Pro: $9.99 a month (list price $15)
  • Plottr Pro: $99 a year
  • Plottr Pro: $599 one-time (lifetime; list price $699)
  • Plottr Pro + Community: $14.99 a month (list price $19)
  • Plottr Pro + Community: $129 a year (list price $160)
  • Plottr Pro + Community: $649 one-time (lifetime; list price $799)
Free trial
30 days
Platforms
Windows, Mac, web
Exports
Word, Scrivener
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Collaboration, Cloud sync or backup
Trustpilot
4.6 from 120 reviews
US searches a month
2,900 (“plottr”)

Plottr: price, features and score

Plottr is an outlining tool. You lay out a plot on a visual timeline, tie characters, places and notes to it, and keep a series bible across several books. The outline exports to Word or Scrivener, where the actual drafting happens. Plottr lists “No AI” as a feature.

Who it suits: plotters, especially series writers. It has the strongest reputation in this group, 4.6 from 120 Trustpilot reviews. Our older Plottr review walks through the timeline in more detail.

What it lacks: it is not a manuscript editor and does not export EPUB or PDF. Pricing has many tiers: basic Plottr is $60 a year or $150 for life, Pro is $9.99 a month, $99 a year or $599 for life, and the browser app is Pro-only. A discount was running when we checked, so list prices were higher.

7. Microsoft Word

6.8

BookBird Score · writing software · #7 of 12

Best for: Writers already in Word; free on the web and phones

  • Value25/25
  • Features10/30
  • Reputationnot scored
  • Demand12.3/15
Plans (USD)
  • Microsoft 365 Personal: $9.99 a month
  • Microsoft 365 Personal: $99.99 a year
  • Microsoft 365 Family: $12.99 a month
  • Microsoft 365 Family: $129.99 a year
  • Microsoft 365 Premium: $19.99 a month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium: $199.99 a year
  • Office Home 2024: $179.99 one-time (1 PC or Mac, classic 2024 desktop apps)
Free trial
1 month (Microsoft 365)
Platforms
Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, web
Exports
Not stated
Checklist
Cloud sync or backup
Trustpilot
1.2 from 4,084 reviews (whole Microsoft company profile, not Word; not scored)
US searches a month
1,000,000 (“microsoft word”)

The vendor pages we read do not state export formats, so Features gives no export points. Reputation is left out: the Trustpilot profile rates the whole company (whole Microsoft company profile, not Word).

Microsoft Word: price, features and score

Microsoft Word is free on the web and on phones with a Microsoft account. The desktop app comes with Microsoft 365 Personal at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year, which also includes 1 TB of OneDrive storage and Copilot, or as Office Home 2024 for $179.99 once, for one PC or Mac.

Who it suits: writers who already use it and want to keep the drafting and the file they send to editors in one place.

What it lacks: nothing in its feature list is specific to books, such as outlining, a corkboard or word-count goals. Its score is incomplete: Word’s product page blocked our request, so its export formats are not in our data and earn no points, and Microsoft’s Trustpilot profile rates the whole company, so Reputation is left out.

8. Google Docs

6.2

BookBird Score · writing software · #8 of 12

Best for: Free drafting with real-time co-editing and comments

  • Value25/25
  • Features9.8/30
  • Reputation12.1/30
  • Demand15/15
Plans (USD)
  • Google Docs (personal Google account): Free
Free trial
14 days (paid Workspace plans)
Platforms
web, iOS, Android
Exports
PDF
Checklist
Collaboration
Trustpilot
2.5 from 68 reviews
US searches a month
20,400,000 (“google docs”)

Google Docs: price, features and score

Google Docs is free with a personal Google account and runs in the browser and on iOS and Android. Its strengths are real-time co-editing, comments with suggested edits you accept or reject, revision history and offline editing. Gemini’s “Help me write” is built in.

Who it suits: co-authors, and writers who share chapters with an editor or beta readers and want comments in one place.

What it lacks: no outlining, notes or goals for long-form writing, and no desktop app in its platform list. The help page we read confirms only PDF among its download formats, so that is all the score counts. Its Trustpilot profile shows 2.5 from 68 reviews.

9. Novlr

6.0

BookBird Score · writing software · #9 of 12

Best for: Browser drafting with goals, sprints and a plot grid

  • Value25/25
  • Features9.6/30
  • Reputationnot scored
  • Demand7.3/15
Plans (USD)
  • Free
  • Starter: $8 a month (billed yearly)
  • Studio: $16 a month (billed yearly)
  • Lifetime Studio Member: $499 one-time
  • Novlr Sites add-on: $6 a month (or $60/year; included in Studio)
Free trial
Free plan instead
Platforms
web
Exports
Not stated
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Cloud sync or backup, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
No rating shown
US searches a month
3,600 (“novlr”)

The vendor pages we read do not state export formats, so Features gives no export points. Reputation is left out: the Trustpilot page carried no rating.

Novlr: price, features and score

Novlr is a browser-based writing app with a plot grid built on notes, world-building notes beside the manuscript, focus and typewriter modes, and writing sprints, streaks and goals. The Studio plan adds a proofreader and grammar checker, unlimited version history, Google Drive and Dropbox backups, and an author website on your own domain.

Who it suits: writers who like habit tools such as sprints and streaks and want them in the editor. Starter is $8 a month and Studio $16 a month, both billed yearly, or $499 for lifetime Studio.

What it lacks: the pages we read do not state which file formats it exports, so the score gives no export points. Only yearly-billed prices were visible. Its Trustpilot page loaded with no rating, so Reputation is left out.

10. Ulysses

5.8

BookBird Score · writing software · #10 of 12

Best for: Mac and iPhone writers who want a distraction-free editor

  • Value21.5/25
  • Features13.2/30
  • Reputationnot scored
  • Demand6.2/15
Plans (USD)
  • Ulysses: $5.99 a month
  • Ulysses: $39.99 a year
Free trial
Yes, length not stated
Platforms
Mac, iOS
Exports
PDF, Word, ebook
Checklist
Cloud sync or backup, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
No profile
US searches a month
1,000 (“ulysses app”)

Reputation is left out: there is no Trustpilot profile.

Ulysses: price, features and score

Ulysses is a distraction-free, markup-based editor for Mac, iPad and iPhone. Projects split into sheets you can reorder, a grammar and style check covers more than 20 languages, and you can export to PDF, Word and ebook with a live preview or publish straight to WordPress, Ghost or Medium. It syncs through iCloud and can be shared with up to five people through Apple Family Sharing.

Who it suits: Apple users who want a calm writing space at $39.99 a year or $5.99 a month.

What it lacks: there is no Windows, Android or browser version. Its site says “ebooks” without naming the format, so EPUB is not counted. The trial length is not stated, and there is no Trustpilot profile.

11. Dabble

4.8

BookBird Score · writing software · #11 of 12

Best for: Plot grid, notes and co-authoring in one subscription

  • Value5/25
  • Features21/30
  • Reputation15/30
  • Demand6.7/15
Plans (USD)
  • Writer: $19 a month
  • Author: $29 a month
  • Bestseller: $49 a month
  • Lifetime Author Access: $699 one-time
Free trial
14 days
Platforms
Windows, Mac, Linux, web, iOS, Android
Exports
Word, text, Google Docs
Checklist
Outlining or plotting, Notes and research beside the draft, Collaboration, Cloud sync or backup, Writing goals and stats
Trustpilot
3 from 5 reviews
US searches a month
1,900 (“dabble writer”)

Dabble: price, features and score

Dabble keeps a plot grid next to the manuscript, with a story notebook, character profiles, goals and stats. Co-authors can write in real time, and the cloud sync still works offline. It is the only app in this group that ticks all five items on our writing checklist, and it runs on all five platforms plus Linux.

Who it suits: writers who want plotting, drafting and co-writing in one subscription and do not need ebook files from it. The 14-day trial does not need a card.

What it lacks: it is the most expensive app here. Writer costs $19 a month, Author $29 and Bestseller $49, or $699 for lifetime access; annual billing saves 20%, but annual prices are not printed. Exports are Word, plain text and Google Docs, with no EPUB or print PDF stated. Trustpilot shows 3.0 from just 5 reviews.

12. Sudowrite

4.2

BookBird Score · writing software · #12 of 12

Best for: Fiction writers who want AI to draft, rewrite and brainstorm

  • Value14.5/25
  • Features3.6/30
  • Reputation14.5/30
  • Demand8.9/15
Plans (USD)
  • Hobby & Student: $10 a month (billed annually; 225,000 credits/month)
  • Professional: $22 a month (billed annually; 1,000,000 credits/month (shown as promo vs 450,000))
  • Max: $44 a month (billed annually; 2,000,000 credits/month, unused credits roll over 12 months)
Free trial
Yes, length not stated
Platforms
web
Exports
Not stated
Checklist
Outlining or plotting
Trustpilot
2.9 from 32 reviews
US searches a month
22,200 (“sudowrite”)

The vendor pages we read do not state export formats, so Features gives no export points.

Sudowrite: price, features and score

Sudowrite is an AI writing assistant for fiction. It can write, rewrite, describe and expand passages using your story’s context, brainstorm and generate outlines, match your style and keep continuity across a series. It runs on its own fiction models, Muse and Ballad, plus more than 30 others. The Professional and Max plans add developmental edits, line edits and beta reads.

Who it suits: fiction writers who want AI to generate and revise text with them. Plans are credit-based: $10, $22 or $44 a month, billed annually.

What it lacks: export formats are not stated, it runs only in a browser, and its feature list has no notes, goals or collaboration, so it scores lowest on Features. Monthly-billing prices did not load for us. Trustpilot shows 2.9 from 32 reviews.

How to choose book writing software

Do you need ebook and print files from the same app?

If you self-publish, you will need an EPUB for ebook stores and a print-ready PDF for a paperback. Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Campfire and LivingWriter’s Pro plan state both; Scrivener compiles to EPUB and PDF. Dabble, Plottr and Ulysses do not list EPUB, so with them you would format in a second tool. Our guide to ebook file formats explains what each store accepts, and Atticus vs Vellum compares two dedicated formatters.

Which devices do you write on?

Dabble, LivingWriter, Campfire and Word run on Mac, Windows, the web, iOS and Android. Scrivener has no Android or web version, Ulysses is Apple-only, and Novlr, Reedsy Studio and Sudowrite run in a browser.

One payment or a subscription?

Over three years, Scrivener costs $59.99 for one computer and Atticus $147. Ulysses on the yearly plan costs $119.97 over the same period, and Dabble’s Writer plan paid monthly costs $684. Plottr, Novlr and Dabble also sell lifetime plans. The Value part of the score spreads one-time licences over three years for this reason.

Do you plan before you write?

Plotters get the most from Plottr’s timeline, Campfire’s worldbuilding modules or the plot grids in Dabble and Novlr. If you write first and restructure later, Scrivener’s corkboard and outline views are built for it. Our guide on how to outline a book covers the planning methods these apps support.

Free book writing software

Six of the twelve apps can be used without paying, with very different limits:

  • Google Docs: free with a Google account, with no paid tier needed for writing.
  • Microsoft Word: free on the web and on phones; the desktop app needs Microsoft 365 or Office.
  • Reedsy Studio: drafting and typesetting to print-ready PDF and EPUB are free; add-ons cost extra.
  • Campfire: free modules with limits, such as 25,000 manuscript words, 10 characters and 2 maps.
  • LivingWriter: free plan with basic PDF export only.
  • Novlr: free plan; the proofreader, backups and full version history are on Studio.

Once you know your word count, our free words to pages calculator shows how many printed pages that makes.

AI for writing a book

Several apps in this comparison now include AI, in different amounts. Sudowrite is built around it: drafting, rewriting, brainstorming, outlining and editing feedback. LivingWriter adds AI rewrites, outlines and a manuscript chat on its $30-a-month Pro + AI plan. Word on the desktop comes with Copilot through Microsoft 365, and Google Docs has Gemini’s “Help me write.” Plottr goes the other way and advertises that it has no AI.

Our score does not rate the quality of AI-written prose, and we did not test it. If AI help is the main reason you are choosing, start with Sudowrite’s free trial, which needs no credit card.

How the BookBird Score works

Data collected on October 2, 2026 from each vendor’s own site, Trustpilot, and US Google search volumes (Google Ads data via DataForSEO). Nobody pays to be listed, and the score is never adjusted by hand.

  • Value, 25 points. What one year costs a single author on the cheapest plan with a USD price. A one-time licence is spread over 3 years; phone-only editions are not counted. A free plan earns the full 25. Otherwise the points fall in a straight line from 25 at $0 to 5 for the most expensive product in the same category.
  • Features, 30 points. Export formats 12 (DOCX, EPUB, PDF and print-ready, 3 each, from the exports field and the feature list), platforms 8 (Mac, Windows, web, iOS, Android), and a checklist 10 (Outlining or plotting; Notes and research beside the draft; Collaboration; Cloud sync or backup; Writing goals and stats), read from the vendor’s feature list. Only what the vendor’s pages state counts; a format they do not name earns nothing.
  • Reputation, 30 points. The Trustpilot rating, weighted by review count: it is blended with a neutral 3.0 as if it had 20 extra reviews, so 4.6 from 120 reviews counts for more than 5.0 from three. Used only when the profile rates the product itself. When it rates the whole company, or there is no profile or no reviews, this part is left out and the score is taken over the other 70 points. G2 was not used: it blocked our requests, and we did not guess its numbers.
  • Demand, 15 points. US searches a month for the product’s name, on a log scale against the most-searched product in the same category.

The score is the points earned divided by the points that could be checked, on a 10-point scale, rounded to one decimal. Scores compare products within one category, so the same app can score differently as a writing app and as a formatter. We did not test the apps; the score measures price, stated features, published reviews and search interest, not writing quality.

Writing softwareValue /25Features /30Reputation /30Demand /15Score /10
Campfire2523—7.17.9
Scrivener23.222.820.29.67.6
Reedsy Studio2518.6—7.77.3
LivingWriter252812.96.47.2
Atticus20.718.824.56.27.0
Plottr20.615.825.37.16.9
Microsoft Word2510—12.36.8
Google Docs259.812.1156.2
Novlr259.6—7.36.0
Ulysses21.513.2—6.25.8
Dabble521156.74.8
Sudowrite14.53.614.58.94.2

Questions

What is the best book writing software?

By our score, Campfire (7.9), Scrivener (7.6) and Reedsy Studio (7.3) lead. Campfire and Reedsy Studio are scored without Reputation, because Campfire has no Trustpilot profile and Reedsy’s rates the whole company. Among the apps whose own Trustpilot rating counts, Scrivener scores highest.

What is the best novel writing software?

For planning a novel, Plottr and Campfire are built for plots, timelines and story bibles. For drafting one, Scrivener handles long manuscripts in sections, and Dabble and Novlr keep a plot grid next to the text. Many novelists use one of each.

Is there free book writing software?

Yes. Google Docs is free, Word is free on the web and phones, and Reedsy Studio, Campfire, LivingWriter and Novlr have free plans. Reedsy Studio’s free plan typesets a print-ready PDF and an EPUB; LivingWriter’s free plan exports a basic PDF only.

Why is there no star rating?

Because we did not test the apps by writing books in them. The BookBird Score uses only what can be checked: prices, stated features and platforms, Trustpilot reviews and search demand, all collected on one date.