Ulysses on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #5 of 16 ·
Best for: Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup
Author jobs, from Ulysses’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Yes: Word-count goals
- Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
- Yes: Version history or snapshots
- Not stated: Works offline (not stated)
- Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
- Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
- Yes: Syncs across devices
Ulysses pricing
Several ways to pay. Free trial: 7 days. The plans as Ulysses’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Ulysses: $5.99 a month
- Ulysses: $39.99 a year
- Perpetual license: price in USD not confirmed
Prices apply to the U.S.; sold through the App Store. Monthly and yearly subscriptions include a 7-day trial; the perpetual license has none. Student pricing and Setapp also available.
What Ulysses offers
From Ulysses’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Markup-based, distraction-free editor
- Long texts split into sheets that can be reorganised
- Notes, annotations and comments attached to sheets
- Grammar and style check in 20+ languages
- Export to PDF, DOCX, ePub, HTML and text with live preview
- Writing goals and deadlines
- Automatic local backups; individual sheets can be restored
- iCloud sync across Mac, iPad and iPhone; publishing to WordPress, Ghost, Medium, Micro.blog
Runs on: Mac and iOS. Exports: TXT, HTML, EPUB, PDF and DOCX. Launched: 2003.
Who Ulysses suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup.
Not confirmed on Ulysses’s pages when we checked: works offline. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 1,000 people a month search Google in the US for “ulysses app”, down 1% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Ulysses alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| Google Docs | 8.3 | Free | Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Scrivener | 7.7 | $59.99 one-time | Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence |
| Storyist | 7.5 | $19 one-time | Apple users who want a one-time purchase with ebook export |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Ulysses questions
How much does Ulysses cost?
$39.99 a year. Ulysses lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Ulysses run on?
Mac and iOS, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Ulysses?
Yes, 7 days.
What file formats can Ulysses export?
TXT, HTML, EPUB, PDF and DOCX, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Ulysses’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.