Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Reedsy Studio

Reedsy Studio (Reedsy Book Editor) Review: Price, Features and Score

Reedsy Studio at a glance: Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on), on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Reedsy Studio on the BookBird Author Score

Reedsy Studio does more than one job, so it is scored in each of its categories: book writing software and book formatting. Each score compares it only with the other products in that category.

As book writing software

Author Score · book writing software · #11 of 16 ·

Best for: Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration

BookBird Author Score6.8/10 #11 of 16 book writing software. Worked out from Reedsy Studio’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts31.3/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book writing software list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Reedsy Studio’s own pages confirm it. 5 of 8 confirmed = 31.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts12.1/25Searches, 20 points: 5,400 a month for “reedsy book editor”, against Google Docs, the most searched in this category (20,400,000), on a log scale = 10.2. Trend, 5 points: down 13% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.8; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 68.3 of 100 points= 6.8 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Reedsy Studio’s own pages

  • Not stated: Chapters and scenes you can reorder (not stated)
  • Yes: Word-count goals
  • Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
  • Yes: Version history or snapshots
  • No: Works offline (no)
  • No: Exports to Word (DOCX) (no)
  • Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
  • Yes: Syncs across devices

As book formatting

Author Score · book formatting · #6 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration

BookBird Author Score6.9/10 #6 of 12 book formatting. Worked out from Reedsy Studio’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts25/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Reedsy Studio’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 8 confirmed = 25 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts19/25Searches, 20 points: 5,400 a month for “reedsy book editor”, against Adobe InDesign, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 17.2. Trend, 5 points: down 13% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.8; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 69 of 100 points= 6.9 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Reedsy Studio’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Yes: Ready-made book designs
  • Not stated: Device and print preview (not stated)
  • Not stated: Imports a Word file (not stated)
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Not stated: Several editions from one file (not stated)

Reedsy Studio pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. Free trial: 30 days. The plans as Reedsy Studio’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Standard: Free
  • Craft add-on: $4.99 a month
  • Craft add-on: $52.99 a year (list $59.88 before the 10% annual discount)
  • Outlining add-on: $7.99 a month
  • Outlining add-on: $95.88 a year (before the 10% annual discount; discounted figure not displayed for this add-on alone)

Trial covers the add-ons. Annual billing saves 10%. Prices shown in USD to the fetching location.

What Reedsy Studio offers

From Reedsy Studio’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Typesets to print-ready PDF (PDF/X-1a) and EPUB 3 for free
  • Trim sizes 6x9, 5.5x8.5, 5x8 and 4.25x6.87 in
  • Three export themes (Reedsy, Classic, Romance)
  • Auto-generated copyright page and table of contents
  • Real-time collaboration with comments and tracked changes
  • Writing timeline: 30 days of history free, unlimited with Craft
  • Shareable read-only previews for beta readers
  • Planning boards and notes (limited free, unlimited with Outlining add-on)

Runs on: web. Exports: EPUB and PDF. Needs an internet connection.

Who Reedsy Studio suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration.

Not confirmed on Reedsy Studio’s pages when we checked: chapters and scenes you can reorder, works offline, exports to Word (DOCX), device and print preview, imports a Word file, full-bleed images and several editions from one file. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 5,400 people a month search Google in the US for “reedsy book editor”, down 13% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Reedsy Studio alternatives

Other book writing software

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Novlr8.7Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly)Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI
Google Docs8.3FreeAuthors sharing drafts with editors at no cost
LivingWriter7.8Free plan; paid from $179 a yearPlotters writing on web, desktop and mobile
Scrivener7.7$59.99 one-timeMac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence
Ulysses7.6$39.99 a yearApple-only writers who like plain-text markup

Other book formatting

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus8.9$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Vellum8.6$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Bookow7.4$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

Compare: All book writing software · All book formatting · All software for authors

Reedsy Studio questions

How much does Reedsy Studio cost?

Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on). Reedsy Studio lists 5 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Reedsy Studio run on?

web, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Reedsy Studio?

Yes, 30 days.

What file formats can Reedsy Studio export?

EPUB and PDF, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Reedsy Studio’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.