Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Novelcrafter

Novelcrafter Review: Price, Features and Score

Novelcrafter at a glance: $4 a month, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Novelcrafter on the BookBird Author Score

Novelcrafter does more than one job, so it is scored in each of its categories: book writing software and AI writing tools for fiction. Each score compares it only with the other products in that category.

As book writing software

Author Score · book writing software · #13 of 16 ·

Best for: Fiction writers who want AI with their own model choice

BookBird Author Score6.5/10 #13 of 16 book writing software. Worked out from Novelcrafter’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts31.3/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book writing software list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Novelcrafter’s own pages confirm it. 5 of 8 confirmed = 31.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts20.8/25Novelcrafter costs $48 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest book writing software product with a US price, Dabble at $228 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $48 = 20.8 points.Adoption25 pts13.2/25Searches, 20 points: 8,100 a month for “novelcrafter”, against Google Docs, the most searched in this category (20,400,000), on a log scale = 10.7. Trend, 5 points: up 0% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.5; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 65.2 of 100 points= 6.5 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Novelcrafter’s own pages

  • Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
  • Not stated: Word-count goals (not stated)
  • Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
  • Yes: Version history or snapshots
  • No: Works offline (no)
  • Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
  • No: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF) (no)
  • Yes: Syncs across devices

As AI writing tools for fiction

Author Score · AI writing tools for fiction · #4 of 9 ·

Best for: Fiction writers who want AI with their own model choice

BookBird Author Score8.0/10 #4 of 9 AI writing tools for fiction. Worked out from Novelcrafter’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts42.9/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the AI writing tools for fiction list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Novelcrafter’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 7 confirmed = 42.9 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts17/25Novelcrafter costs $48 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest AI writing tools for fiction product with a US price, Sudowrite at $120 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $48 = 17 points.Adoption25 pts20.5/25Searches, 20 points: 8,100 a month for “novelcrafter”, against Sudowrite, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 18. Trend, 5 points: up 0% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.5; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 80.3 of 100 points= 8.0 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Novelcrafter’s own pages

  • Yes: Built for fiction
  • Yes: Remembers your characters and world
  • Yes: Drafts from your outline
  • Yes: Rewrite, expand and describe tools
  • Yes: Choice of AI model
  • Yes: You own the text, not used for training
  • No: Clear word or credit allowance (no)

Novelcrafter pricing

Subscription. Free trial: 21 days. The plans as Novelcrafter’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Scribe: $4 a month
  • Hobbyist: $8 a month
  • Artisan: $14 a month
  • Specialist: $20 a month

Page says "Prices have been localized to your region"; it showed these USD figures to a Polish visitor, and the US-indexed copy of the page carries the same $4/$8/$14/$20. Annual billing "2 months off"; annual figures not read. AI usage is paid to the AI provider (BYOK), not to Novelcrafter.

What Novelcrafter offers

From Novelcrafter’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Plan view with acts, chapters and scenes that can be moved and split
  • Codex story bible for characters, places and lore, with tracking and progressions
  • Prose generated from scene beats; scene summaries and character extraction (Hobbyist and up)
  • Expand, rephrase and shorten prompts on selected text, plus custom prompts
  • Bring your own key: OpenRouter, OpenAI, Anthropic, local models via Ollama or LM Studio
  • Revision history with restore for scenes and other items
  • Workshop chat (Artisan and up); teams and co-writing (Specialist)
  • Export to Word .docx or Markdown

Runs on: web. Exports: DOCX and Markdown. Needs an internet connection.

Who Novelcrafter suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Fiction writers who want AI with their own model choice.

Not confirmed on Novelcrafter’s pages when we checked: word-count goals, works offline, exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF) and clear word or credit allowance. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 8,100 people a month search Google in the US for “novelcrafter”, up 0% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Novelcrafter alternatives

Other book writing software

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Novlr8.7Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly)Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI
Google Docs8.3FreeAuthors sharing drafts with editors at no cost
LivingWriter7.8Free plan; paid from $179 a yearPlotters writing on web, desktop and mobile
Scrivener7.7$59.99 one-timeMac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence
Ulysses7.6$39.99 a yearApple-only writers who like plain-text markup

Other AI writing tools for fiction

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Inkfluence AI8.6Free plan; paid from $89 a yearCreators producing many ebook types, including fiction, on web or iPhone
Bookwiz8.5Free plan; paid from $140 a yearFirst-time KDP authors writing novels or nonfiction in one browser app
Type.ai8.2$96 a yearNovelists and screenwriters who want AI inside a full document editor
Squibler7.9Free plan; paid from $15.83 a month (billed yearly)Writers wanting AI to generate full drafts from an idea
Sudowrite7.8$10 a month (billed yearly)Novelists who want AI drafting guided by a story bible

Compare: All book writing software · All AI writing tools for fiction · All software for authors

Novelcrafter questions

How much does Novelcrafter cost?

$4 a month. Novelcrafter lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Novelcrafter run on?

web, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Novelcrafter?

Yes, 21 days.

What file formats can Novelcrafter export?

DOCX and Markdown, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Novelcrafter’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.