Wavemaker on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #15 of 16
Best for: Writers on Chromebooks or mixed devices wanting free offline software
59.5 of 100 points = 5.9 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Wavemaker’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Not stated: Word-count goals (not stated)
- Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
- Not stated: Version history or snapshots (not stated)
- Yes: Works offline
- Not stated: Exports to Word (DOCX) (not stated)
- Not stated: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF) (not stated)
- Yes: Syncs across devices
Wavemaker pricing
Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Wavemaker’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Wavemaker: Free (Patreon support optional)
What Wavemaker offers
From Wavemaker’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Book structured into chapters and scenes that can be shuffled around
- Searchable notes and research database organised with hashtags
- Snowflake cards method for growing an idea into a novel
- Installs as a progressive web app and runs without a connection
- Projects stored locally or in your own Google Drive, not on vendor servers
- Interface in eight languages
Runs on: web. Works offline.
Who Wavemaker suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Writers on Chromebooks or mixed devices wanting free offline software.
Not confirmed on Wavemaker’s pages when we checked: word-count goals, version history or snapshots, exports to Word (DOCX) and exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF). That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 170 people a month search Google in the US for “wavemaker writing”, up 18% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Wavemaker alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| Google Docs | 8.3 | Free | Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Scrivener | 7.7 | $59.99 one-time | Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence |
| Ulysses | 7.6 | $39.99 a year | Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Wavemaker questions
How much does Wavemaker cost?
Free.
What does Wavemaker run on?
web, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Wavemaker’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.