Scrivener on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #4 of 16 ·
Best for: Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence
Author jobs, from Scrivener’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Yes: Word-count goals
- Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
- Yes: Version history or snapshots
- Not stated: Works offline (not stated)
- Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
- Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
- Yes: Syncs across devices
Scrivener pricing
One-time licence. Free trial: 30 days. The plans as Scrivener’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Standard Licence for macOS: $59.99 one-time
- Standard Licence for Windows: $59.99 one-time
- Scrivener 3 for macOS and Windows (bundle): $95.98 one-time
- Scrivener for iPad and iPhone: $23.99 one-time (shown as US$23.99 on the store iOS tab; sold separately per platform)
- Educational Licence (macOS / Windows): price in USD not confirmed
macOS/Windows/bundle USD prices from the Paddle price API the store uses (product ids 558657, 558662, 648447, customer_country=US); the store page itself shows PLN to a Polish visitor. Separate licence per platform.
What Scrivener offers
From Scrivener’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Binder, corkboard and outliner over the same text; moving a card moves the section
- Research files (PDFs, images, web pages) kept inside the project beside the draft
- Word or character targets for the manuscript, sections or a session, plus writing history
- Snapshots of a section before revising, with a compare view
- Compile to Word, RTF, PDF, ebook, Final Draft or plain text with separate formatting per output
- Split editor with up to four documents open at once
- Labels, status and custom metadata on every section
- Syncs with the iOS app through Dropbox
Runs on: Mac, Windows and iOS. Exports: Word, RTF, OpenOffice, PDF, EPUB, Final Draft and TXT.
Who Scrivener suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence.
Not confirmed on Scrivener’s pages when we checked: works offline. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 720 people a month search Google in the US for “scrivener software”, up 0% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Scrivener alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| Google Docs | 8.3 | Free | Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Ulysses | 7.6 | $39.99 a year | Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup |
| Storyist | 7.5 | $19 one-time | Apple users who want a one-time purchase with ebook export |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Scrivener questions
How much does Scrivener cost?
$59.99 one-time. Scrivener lists 5 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Scrivener run on?
Mac, Windows and iOS, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Scrivener?
Yes, 30 days.
What file formats can Scrivener export?
Word, RTF, OpenOffice, PDF, EPUB, Final Draft and TXT, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Scrivener’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.