Google Docs on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #2 of 16 ·
Best for: Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost
Author jobs, from Google Docs’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Not stated: Word-count goals (not stated)
- Not stated: Notes beside the manuscript (not stated)
- Yes: Version history or snapshots
- Yes: Works offline
- Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
- Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
- Yes: Syncs across devices
Google Docs pricing
Free. There is a free plan. Free trial: 14 days. The plans as Google Docs’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Google Docs (personal Google account): Free
Docs is free with a personal Google account. Paid Google Workspace business plans exist (14-day trial) but were priced in PLN for the fetching location; USD not verified.
What Google Docs offers
From Google Docs’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Real-time co-editing with comments and suggested edits
- Document tabs and subtabs that can be dragged into a new order
- Version history to browse and restore earlier versions
- Offline editing in Chrome or Edge with the Docs Offline extension
- Download as DOCX, EPUB, PDF, RTF, ODT, TXT or HTML
- Imports Word documents
- Gemini "Help me write" in Docs
- Templates and building blocks
Runs on: web, iOS and Android. Exports: DOCX, EPUB, PDF, RTF, ODT, TXT and HTML. Works offline.
Who Google Docs suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost.
Not confirmed on Google Docs’s pages when we checked: word-count goals and notes beside the manuscript. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 20,400,000 people a month search Google in the US for “google docs”, down 54% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Google Docs alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Scrivener | 7.7 | $59.99 one-time | Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence |
| Ulysses | 7.6 | $39.99 a year | Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup |
| Storyist | 7.5 | $19 one-time | Apple users who want a one-time purchase with ebook export |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Google Docs questions
How much does Google Docs cost?
Free.
What does Google Docs run on?
web, iOS and Android, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Google Docs?
Yes, 14 days.
What file formats can Google Docs export?
DOCX, EPUB, PDF, RTF, ODT, TXT and HTML, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Google Docs’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.