Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. yWriter

yWriter Review: Price, Features and Score

yWriter at a glance: Free plan, on Windows, Android and iOS. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

yWriter on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book writing software · #8 of 16 ·

Best for: Windows writers on a zero budget who plan by scene

BookBird Author Score7.2/10 #8 of 16 book writing software. Worked out from yWriter’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts37.5/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book writing software list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when yWriter’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 8 confirmed = 37.5 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts10/25Searches, 20 points: 2,400 a month for “ywriter”, against Google Docs, the most searched in this category (20,400,000), on a log scale = 9.2. Trend, 5 points: down 36% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 0.7; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 72.5 of 100 points= 7.2 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from yWriter’s own pages

  • Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
  • Not stated: Word-count goals (not stated)
  • Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
  • Yes: Version history or snapshots
  • Yes: Works offline
  • Not stated: Exports to Word (DOCX) (not stated)
  • Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
  • Yes: Syncs across devices

yWriter pricing

Several ways to pay. There is a free plan. The plans as yWriter’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • yWriter7 for Windows: Free (optional registration encouraged)
  • Registration (optional): price in USD not confirmed
  • yWriter for Android: price in USD not confirmed
  • yWriter for iOS: price in USD not confirmed

Windows version is free; mobile versions are paid and built by another developer; a MacOS beta is free while in testing.

What yWriter offers

From yWriter’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Novel broken into chapters and scenes, dragged and dropped between chapters
  • Characters, items and locations kept in the project
  • Viewpoint, goal, conflict and outcome fields per scene
  • Storyboard view of the whole book
  • Snapshot backups that roll scenes back to earlier versions
  • Per-file word counts and a daily progress log
  • Export to RTF, EPUB, MOBI and LaTeX
  • No internet connection needed; mobile apps edit PC projects via Dropbox

Runs on: Windows, Android and iOS. Exports: RTF, EPUB, MOBI and LaTeX. Works offline.

Who yWriter suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Windows writers on a zero budget who plan by scene.

Not confirmed on yWriter’s pages when we checked: word-count goals and exports to Word (DOCX). That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 2,400 people a month search Google in the US for “ywriter”, down 36% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

yWriter alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Novlr8.7Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly)Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI
Google Docs8.3FreeAuthors sharing drafts with editors at no cost
LivingWriter7.8Free plan; paid from $179 a yearPlotters writing on web, desktop and mobile
Scrivener7.7$59.99 one-timeMac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence
Ulysses7.6$39.99 a yearApple-only writers who like plain-text markup

Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors

yWriter questions

How much does yWriter cost?

Free plan. yWriter lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does yWriter run on?

Windows, Android and iOS, according to its own site.

What file formats can yWriter export?

RTF, EPUB, MOBI and LaTeX, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from yWriter’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.