Storyist on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #6 of 16
Best for: Apple users who want a one-time purchase with ebook export
75 of 100 points = 7.5 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Storyist’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Yes: Word-count goals
- Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
- Yes: Version history or snapshots
- Not stated: Works offline (not stated)
- Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
- Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
- Yes: Syncs across devices
Storyist pricing
One-time licence. Free trial: 14 days. The plans as Storyist’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Storyist 4 for macOS: $59 one-time
- Storyist 4 for iOS: $19 one-time
US$ prices from the store page; macOS price also confirmed through the Paddle price API (product 533069, customer_country=US). No subscription. Upgrade pricing available.
What Storyist offers
From Storyist’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Index cards on a corkboard to view and rearrange scenes
- Story sheets for plot, character, setting and sections
- Daily and project word-count goals
- Print-ready PDF with trim size, margins and bleed; ePub for Apple Books and KDP
- Manuscript and screenplay templates; Final Draft and Fountain support
- Automatic project versions via Apple Versions
- Projects stored in the cloud (iCloud, Dropbox, Google Drive on iOS)
- Blurb trade-book templates
Runs on: Mac and iOS. Exports: RTF, HTML, TXT, ODT, DOC, DOCX, Scrivener, FDX, Fountain, EPUB and PDF.
Who Storyist suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Apple users who want a one-time purchase with ebook export.
Not confirmed on Storyist’s pages when we checked: works offline. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 260 people a month search Google in the US for “storyist”, down 46% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Storyist alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| Google Docs | 8.3 | Free | Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Scrivener | 7.7 | $59.99 one-time | Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence |
| Ulysses | 7.6 | $39.99 a year | Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Storyist questions
How much does Storyist cost?
$19 one-time. Storyist lists 2 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Storyist run on?
Mac and iOS, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Storyist?
Yes, 14 days.
What file formats can Storyist export?
RTF, HTML, TXT, ODT, DOC, DOCX, Scrivener, FDX, Fountain, EPUB and PDF, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Storyist’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.