Manuskript on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book writing software · #12 of 16
Best for: Linux or Windows plotters wanting free, open-source software
66.9 of 100 points = 6.7 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Manuskript’s own pages
- Yes: Chapters and scenes you can reorder
- Yes: Word-count goals
- Yes: Notes beside the manuscript
- Not stated: Version history or snapshots (not stated)
- Not stated: Works offline (not stated)
- Yes: Exports to Word (DOCX)
- Yes: Exports a book file (EPUB or print PDF)
- Not stated: Syncs across devices (not stated)
Manuskript pricing
Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Manuskript’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Manuskript: Free (open source; donations welcome)
What Manuskript offers
From Manuskript’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Hierarchical outline of the story that can be reorganised on the go
- Index cards and an outliner view of chapters and scenes
- Snowflake-method assistant that grows an idea into a plan
- Notes for characters, plots, events and places
- Distraction-free mode with a word-count or time goal
- EPUB, ODT and DOCX import/export when Pandoc is installed
- Optional detailed grammar check via LanguageTool
Runs on: Windows and Linux. Exports: EPUB, ODT and DOCX.
Who Manuskript suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Linux or Windows plotters wanting free, open-source software.
Not confirmed on Manuskript’s pages when we checked: version history or snapshots, works offline and syncs across devices. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 1,300 people a month search Google in the US for “manuskript”, down 7% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Manuskript alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Novlr | 8.7 | Free plan; paid from $8 a month (billed yearly) | Writers wanting a free web app with no built-in AI |
| Google Docs | 8.3 | Free | Authors sharing drafts with editors at no cost |
| LivingWriter | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $179 a year | Plotters writing on web, desktop and mobile |
| Scrivener | 7.7 | $59.99 one-time | Mac or Windows authors who want a one-time licence |
| Ulysses | 7.6 | $39.99 a year | Apple-only writers who like plain-text markup |
Compare: All book writing software · All software for authors
Manuskript questions
How much does Manuskript cost?
Free.
What does Manuskript run on?
Windows and Linux, according to its own site.
What file formats can Manuskript export?
EPUB, ODT and DOCX, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Manuskript’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.