Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Bookow

Bookow Review: Price, Features and Score

Bookow at a glance: $80 one-time, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Bookow on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book formatting · #5 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

BookBird Author Score7.4/10 #5 of 12 book formatting. Worked out from Bookow’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts37.5/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Bookow’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 8 confirmed = 37.5 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts23.2/25Bookow costs $26.67 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest book formatting product with a US price, Designrr at $297 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $26.67 = 23.2 points.Adoption25 pts12.8/25Searches, 20 points: 320 a month for “bookow”, against Adobe InDesign, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 11.5. Trend, 5 points: down 24% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.3; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 73.5 of 100 points= 7.4 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Bookow’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Not stated: Ready-made book designs (not stated)
  • Yes: Device and print preview
  • Yes: Imports a Word file
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Yes: Several editions from one file

Bookow pricing

One-time licence. The plans as Bookow’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Automated formatting, no images: $80 one-time (per book)
  • Automated formatting, with images: $120 one-time (per book)
  • Custom formatting: $300 custom pricing (starting price)

Prices stated in US dollars. Free to use with a watermarked PDF; pay to download without watermark; re-uploads and re-downloads are free.

What Bookow offers

From Bookow’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Reads Word, OpenOffice or RTF manuscripts
  • Print-ready PDF in a choice of trim sizes for KDP, IngramSpark, Lulu
  • EPUB files generated alongside the print PDF
  • Front matter entered in a form and typeset for you
  • Choice of fonts, headers and footers
  • Free watermarked preview before paying
  • Custom typesetting for complex books
  • Free KDP cover template, ISBN barcode and cover size tools

Runs on: web. Exports: PDF (print-ready) and EPUB. Needs an internet connection. Launched: 2010.

Who Bookow suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software.

Not confirmed on Bookow’s pages when we checked: ready-made book designs and full-bleed images. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 320 people a month search Google in the US for “bookow”, down 24% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Bookow alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital Formatter9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus8.9$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Vellum8.6$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Reedsy Studio6.9Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on)Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration

Compare: All book formatting · All software for authors

Bookow questions

How much does Bookow cost?

$80 one-time. Bookow lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Bookow run on?

web, according to its own site.

What file formats can Bookow export?

PDF (print-ready) and EPUB, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Bookow’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.