Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Draft2Digital

Draft2Digital Formatter Review: Price, Features and Score

Draft2Digital at a glance: Free, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Draft2Digital on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book formatting · #1 of 10 ·

Best for: Authors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not

BookBird Author Score9.0/10 #1 of 10 book formatting. Worked out from Draft2Digital’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts43.8/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Draft2Digital’s own pages confirm it. 7 of 8 confirmed = 43.8 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts20.9/25Searches, 20 points: 9,900 a month for “draft2digital”, against Adobe InDesign, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 18.4. Trend, 5 points: up 0% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.5; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 89.6 of 100 points= 9.0 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Draft2Digital’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Yes: Ready-made book designs
  • Yes: Device and print preview
  • Yes: Imports a Word file
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Yes: Several editions from one file

Visit Draft2Digital

Draft2Digital pricing

Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Draft2Digital’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Formatting and file download: Free
  • Publishing account activation: $20 one-time
  • Maintenance fee: $12 a year (only accounts with titles in distribution earning under $100/year)

Converted EPUB and paperback PDF can be downloaded free without publishing through D2D. Distribution: D2D keeps about 10% of retail price per sale.

What Draft2Digital offers

From Draft2Digital’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Imports .doc/.docx, RTF, ODT, TXT; accepts your own EPUB
  • Automated conversion with genre layout templates
  • Free EPUB and print-ready paperback PDF download
  • Adds title, copyright, Also By, teaser and bio pages
  • Print book generated from the ebook's Word file
  • Live preview while changing template and inside details
  • Wraparound cover generator or downloadable cover template
  • Free ISBN when distributing through D2D

Runs on: web. Exports: EPUB and PDF (paperback). Needs an internet connection.

Who Draft2Digital suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not.

Not confirmed on Draft2Digital’s pages when we checked: full-bleed images. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 9,900 people a month search Google in the US for “draft2digital”, up 0% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Draft2Digital alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Atticus7.8$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Vellum7.1$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Reedsy Studio6.9Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on)Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration
Bookow6.7$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

Compare: All book formatting · All software for authors

Draft2Digital questions

How much does Draft2Digital cost?

Free plan. Draft2Digital lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Draft2Digital run on?

web, according to its own site.

What file formats can Draft2Digital export?

EPUB and PDF (paperback), according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Draft2Digital’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.