Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Kindle Create

Kindle Create Review: Price, Features and Score

Kindle Create at a glance: Free, on Windows and Mac. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Kindle Create on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book formatting · #2 of 10 ·

Best for: KDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books

BookBird Author Score8.6/10 #2 of 10 book formatting. Worked out from Kindle Create’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts43.8/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Kindle Create’s own pages confirm it. 7 of 8 confirmed = 43.8 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts17.5/25Searches, 20 points: 5,400 a month for “kindle create”, against Adobe InDesign, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 17.2. Trend, 5 points: down 43% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 0.4; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 86.3 of 100 points= 8.6 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Kindle Create’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Yes: Ready-made book designs
  • Yes: Device and print preview
  • Yes: Imports a Word file
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Yes: Several editions from one file

Visit Kindle Create

Kindle Create pricing

Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Kindle Create’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Kindle Create: Free

Free download for PC and Mac.

What Kindle Create offers

From Kindle Create’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Imports .doc/.docx, .rtf and .txt
  • Four book themes for reflowable ebooks
  • One-click table of contents from detected chapters
  • Ebook and paperback/hardcover from the same manuscript
  • Any KDP-supported trim size; margins, headers, page numbers set for you
  • Previewer for tablets, phones and Kindle e-readers
  • Print Replica with audio, video and image pop-ups
  • Comics and kids' books with Guided View

Runs on: Windows and Mac. Exports: KPF, EPUB and print-ready file for KDP paperback/hardcover.

Who Kindle Create suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: KDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books.

Not confirmed on Kindle Create’s pages when we checked: full-bleed images. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 5,400 people a month search Google in the US for “kindle create”, down 43% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Kindle Create alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus7.8$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Vellum7.1$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Reedsy Studio6.9Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on)Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration
Bookow6.7$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

Compare: All book formatting · All software for authors

Kindle Create questions

How much does Kindle Create cost?

Free.

What does Kindle Create run on?

Windows and Mac, according to its own site.

What file formats can Kindle Create export?

KPF, EPUB and print-ready file for KDP paperback/hardcover, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Kindle Create’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.