Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. StoryOrigin

StoryOrigin Review: Price, Features and Score

StoryOrigin at a glance: Free plan; paid from $50 a year, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

StoryOrigin on the BookBird Author Score

8.4

Author Score · aRC reviews & reader building · #1 of 9

Best for: Authors building a mailing list and review team on a small budget

  • Author jobs42.9/506 of 7 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25Free plan (Basic)
  • Adoption15.8/251,000 US searches a month for “storyorigin”, up 20% over 12 months

83.7 of 100 points = 8.4 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from StoryOrigin’s own pages

  • Yes: Sends advance copies to reviewers
  • Yes: Delivers a free book for email sign-ups
  • Yes: Connects to your email provider
  • Yes: Reviewers are screened
  • Not stated: Protects the files (not stated)
  • Yes: Group promotions
  • Yes: Clear price per book or plan

Visit StoryOrigin

StoryOrigin pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as StoryOrigin’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Basic: Free (file delivery, email integrations, universal links, word-count goals)
  • Standard: $10 a month (or $100/year; group promos, newsletter swaps, email collection, review copies with reviewer vetting, beta feedback, direct sales)
  • Additional pen-name account: $50 a year (50% lifetime discount on yearly Standard for extra pen-name accounts, after one account pays $100/year; request by email)
  • Guided Setup: price in USD not confirmed

Pricing page states no hidden overages or upsells.

What StoryOrigin offers

From StoryOrigin’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Review copies for ebooks and audiobook promo codes (Audible, Spotify, Kobo and more)
  • Reviewer profiles checked against Amazon and Goodreads, with past completion rates
  • Automatic follow-up emails to reviewers
  • Reader magnet landing pages limited to verified subscribers
  • Newsletter swaps and group promos with other authors, with a shared calendar
  • Beta reader copies with feedback questionnaires between chapters
  • Universal book links, author website builder, direct ebook sales via Lemon Squeezy
  • Sync with 13 email services including MailerLite, Kit (ConvertKit) and Mailchimp

Runs on: web.

Who StoryOrigin suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors building a mailing list and review team on a small budget.

Not confirmed on StoryOrigin’s pages when we checked: protects the files. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 1,000 people a month search Google in the US for “storyorigin”, up 20% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

StoryOrigin alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
BookSirens8.0Free plan; paid from $10 one-timeAuthors who want pay-per-reader ARC promotion or free private ARC delivery
Prolific Works7.8Free plan; paid from $20 a monthAuthors growing a mailing list through free and group giveaways
Booksprout7.1Free plan; paid from $9 a monthAuthors running regular ARC campaigns who want reminders and reviewer tracking
BookFunnel6.6$30 a yearIndie authors delivering reader magnets, review copies and direct-sale ebooks
NetGalley5.1Not confirmed in USDAuthors with a marketing budget seeking reviewers, librarians and booksellers

Compare: All aRC reviews & reader building · All software for authors

StoryOrigin questions

How much does StoryOrigin cost?

Free plan; paid from $50 a year. StoryOrigin lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does StoryOrigin run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from StoryOrigin’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.