Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Booksprout

Booksprout Review: Price, Features and Score

Booksprout at a glance: Free plan; paid from $9 a month, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Booksprout on the BookBird Author Score

7.1

Author Score · aRC reviews & reader building · #4 of 9

Best for: Authors running regular ARC campaigns who want reminders and reviewer tracking

  • Author jobs28.6/504 of 7 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25Free plan (Free)
  • Adoption17.5/254,400 US searches a month for “booksprout”, up 0% over 12 months

71 of 100 points = 7.1 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from Booksprout’s own pages

  • Yes: Sends advance copies to reviewers
  • Not stated: Delivers a free book for email sign-ups (not stated)
  • Not stated: Connects to your email provider (not stated)
  • Yes: Reviewers are screened
  • Yes: Protects the files
  • Not stated: Group promotions (not stated)
  • Yes: Clear price per book or plan

Visit Booksprout

Booksprout pricing

Subscription. There is a free plan. The plans as Booksprout’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Free (build a team before launch; no review campaigns until a paid plan)
  • Growing Author: $9 a month (1 active campaign, 25 copies per campaign)
  • Pro Author: $19 a month (3 active campaigns, 50 copies per campaign, audiobook review campaigns)
  • Bestselling Author: $29 a month (10 active campaigns, unlimited copies)
  • Publisher and Review Service: $59 a month (unlimited campaigns and copies)

Monthly prices shown; a yearly toggle says 'Save 17%' but the yearly figures could not be read. No free trial; 30-day money-back guarantee.

What Booksprout offers

From Booksprout’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Review copies listed to a community of 80,000+ active reviewers
  • Bring an existing ARC team onto the platform
  • Automatic copy distribution and review reminders
  • Reviewer rank limits downloads for new or non-reviewing accounts
  • Campaigns restricted to manually vetted top reviewers on higher plans
  • Every downloaded copy is tagged; a report-a-pirate page traces leaks
  • Private feedback from readers before publication
  • Block non-reviewers from your team

Runs on: web. Launched: 2015.

Who Booksprout suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors running regular ARC campaigns who want reminders and reviewer tracking.

Not confirmed on Booksprout’s pages when we checked: delivers a free book for email sign-ups, connects to your email provider and group promotions. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 4,400 people a month search Google in the US for “booksprout”, up 0% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Booksprout alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
StoryOrigin8.4Free plan; paid from $50 a yearAuthors building a mailing list and review team on a small budget
BookSirens8.0Free plan; paid from $10 one-timeAuthors who want pay-per-reader ARC promotion or free private ARC delivery
Prolific Works7.8Free plan; paid from $20 a monthAuthors growing a mailing list through free and group giveaways
BookFunnel6.6$30 a yearIndie authors delivering reader magnets, review copies and direct-sale ebooks
NetGalley5.1Not confirmed in USDAuthors with a marketing budget seeking reviewers, librarians and booksellers

Compare: All aRC reviews & reader building · All software for authors

Booksprout questions

How much does Booksprout cost?

Free plan; paid from $9 a month. Booksprout lists 5 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Booksprout run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Booksprout’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.