NetGalley on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · aRC reviews & reader building · #6 of 9
Best for: Authors with a marketing budget seeking reviewers, librarians and booksellers
38.3 of 75 points = 5.1 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from NetGalley’s own pages
- Yes: Sends advance copies to reviewers
- Not stated: Delivers a free book for email sign-ups (not stated)
- Not stated: Connects to your email provider (not stated)
- Yes: Reviewers are screened
- Not stated: Protects the files (not stated)
- Not stated: Group promotions (not stated)
- No: Clear price per book or plan (no)
No USD price could be confirmed, so Cost is left out.
NetGalley pricing
Subscription. The plans as NetGalley’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Publisher / author listing: price in USD not confirmed
Prices are only sent after a request form (/request_terms); no figures on the public pages.
What NetGalley offers
From NetGalley’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Digital review copies and audiobooks offered to reviewers, librarians, booksellers and media
- Members request titles; the publisher or author approves each request
- Members can link verified industry organizations (ALA, ABA and others)
- Pre-approved invite links for your own contacts
- Reading through the NetGalley Shelf app on iOS and Android
- Booktrovert giveaways and campaigns for US readers
- Sites for the US, UK, Germany, France and Japan
Runs on: web.
Who NetGalley suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors with a marketing budget seeking reviewers, librarians and booksellers.
Not confirmed on NetGalley’s pages when we checked: delivers a free book for email sign-ups, connects to your email provider, protects the files, group promotions and clear price per book or plan. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 74,000 people a month search Google in the US for “netgalley”, up 30% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
NetGalley alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| StoryOrigin | 8.4 | Free plan; paid from $50 a year | Authors building a mailing list and review team on a small budget |
| BookSirens | 8.0 | Free plan; paid from $10 one-time | Authors who want pay-per-reader ARC promotion or free private ARC delivery |
| Prolific Works | 7.8 | Free plan; paid from $20 a month | Authors growing a mailing list through free and group giveaways |
| Booksprout | 7.1 | Free plan; paid from $9 a month | Authors running regular ARC campaigns who want reminders and reviewer tracking |
| BookFunnel | 6.6 | $30 a year | Indie authors delivering reader magnets, review copies and direct-sale ebooks |
Compare: All aRC reviews & reader building · All software for authors
NetGalley questions
How much does NetGalley cost?
Not confirmed in USD.
What does NetGalley run on?
web, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from NetGalley’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.