Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. KDP Builder

KDP Builder Review: Price, Features and Score

KDP Builder: AI studio that drafts a book and packages the interior, cover and listing copy for KDP. $190 a year, on web. We did not test it; the facts come from its own pages.

Prices and data checked November 1, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

KDP Builder on the BookBird Author Score

KDP Builder does more than one job, so it is scored in each of its categories: book formatting and book cover design. Each score compares it only with the other products in that category.

As book formatting

Author Score · book formatting · #13 of 13 ·

Best for: Authors who want one web app to draft a nonfiction, journal, coloring or puzzle book and export the KDP upload files

BookBird Author Score5.0/10 #13 of 13 book formatting. Worked out from KDP Builder’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts37.5/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when KDP Builder’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 8 confirmed = 37.5 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts12.2/25KDP Builder costs $190 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest book formatting product with a US price, Designrr at $297 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $190 = 12.2 points.Adoption25 pts0/25Google Ads records no US searches a month for KDP Builder’s name, so Adoption earns 0 of 25. 49.7 of 100 points= 5.0 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from KDP Builder’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Not stated: Ready-made book designs (not stated)
  • Yes: Device and print preview
  • Yes: Imports a Word file
  • Not stated: Front and back matter (not stated)
  • Yes: Full-bleed images
  • Yes: Several editions from one file

No US searches recorded for its name, so Adoption earns 0.

As book cover design

Author Score · book cover design · #10 of 11 ·

Best for: Authors who want one web app to draft a nonfiction, journal, coloring or puzzle book and export the KDP upload files

BookBird Author Score3.4/10 #10 of 11 book cover design. Worked out from KDP Builder’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts25/50Each of the 6 author jobs on the book cover design list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when KDP Builder’s own pages confirm it. 3 of 6 confirmed = 25 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts9.2/25KDP Builder costs $190 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest book cover design product with a US price, Adobe Photoshop at $239.88 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $190 = 9.2 points.Adoption25 pts0/25Google Ads records no US searches a month for KDP Builder’s name, so Adoption earns 0 of 25. 34.2 of 100 points= 3.4 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from KDP Builder’s own pages

  • Yes: Print covers sized for KDP
  • Yes: Ebook cover sizes
  • Yes: Book cover templates
  • Not stated: Images and fonts cleared for commercial use (not stated)
  • Not stated: Print file at 300 DPI or in CMYK (not stated)
  • Not stated: 3D mockups for promotion (not stated)

No US searches recorded for its name, so Adoption earns 0.

KDP Builder pricing

Subscription. Plans, in US dollars:

  • Free credits (75 one-time credits, valid 14 days; exports watermarked; not an ongoing plan)
  • Starter: $19 a month (250 credits a month)
  • Creator: $39 a month (700 credits a month)
  • Studio: $79 a month (1,500 credits a month)
  • Agency: $199 a month (4,000 credits a month)
  • Starter (annual): $190 a year (billed annually, about $16 a month)
  • Creator (annual): $390 a year (billed annually, about $33 a month)
  • Studio (annual): $790 a year (billed annually, about $66 a month)
  • Agency (annual): $1,990 a year (billed annually, about $166 a month)

Credits pay for each AI step (research, outline, chapters, images, covers, listing copy); the pricing page puts a puzzle book at about 100–150 credits, a coloring book at 230–280 and a novel at 125–450. One-time credit packs are sold too: 100 credits for $8.99, 300 for $21.99, 750 for $49.99, 1,500 for $89.99; pack and subscription credits don't expire. Credits for a failed generation are refunded.

What KDP Builder offers

  • Drafts a book chapter by chapter from a topic, audience and goal, with an editable outline and review before each step
  • Puzzle books (sudoku, word search, crosswords, mazes) and coloring pages, mandalas and patterns
  • Text-only journals, planners and logbooks
  • Print interiors with chapter headings, running headers, margins and bleed, edited page by page in an Interior Studio
  • Cover Studio with 161 templates, editable layers and AI tools to erase objects or extend backgrounds
  • Export package: interior PDF, paperback or hardcover cover wrap PDF, EPUB and ebook cover for text books, plus description, keywords and categories
  • Paperback, hardcover and ebook chosen per project; hardcover only at KDP's hardcover trim sizes
  • Free formatter: DOCX, PDF or page images to a KDP interior PDF, up to 120 pages

Runs on: web. Exports: Print PDF, EPUB, Cover wrap PDF and PNG.

KDP Builder alternatives in book formatting

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital Formatter9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus8.9$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Vellum8.6$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Bookow7.4$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

KDP Builder alternatives in book cover design

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Canva8.5Free plan; paid from $20 a monthAuthors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics
BookCoverZone8.3$99 one-timeAuthors who want a designer-made premade cover without commissioning one
DIY Book Covers8.2Free plan; paid from $19 one-timeBudget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs
Book Brush7.2$149 a yearAuthors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription
Venngage Book Cover Maker6.9Free plan; paid from $120 a yearAuthors already using a general web design tool on a subscription

Compare: All book formatting · All book cover design · All software for authors

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step.