Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Canva

Canva Review: Price, Features and Score

Canva at a glance: Free plan; paid from $20 a month, on web, Windows, Mac, iOS and Android. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Canva on the BookBird Author Score

Canva does more than one job, so it is scored in each of its categories: book cover design and book mockup generators. Each score compares it only with the other products in that category.

As book cover design

Author Score · book cover design · #1 of 10 ·

Best for: Authors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics

BookBird Author Score8.5/10 #1 of 10 book cover design. Worked out from Canva’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts41.7/50Each of the 6 author jobs on the book cover design list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Canva’s own pages confirm it. 5 of 6 confirmed = 41.7 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts18.6/25Searches, 20 points: 2,400 a month for “canva book cover”, against Affinity, the most searched in this category (12,100), on a log scale = 16.6. Trend, 5 points: down 9% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 85.3 of 100 points= 8.5 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Canva’s own pages

  • Not stated: Print covers sized for KDP (not stated)
  • Yes: Ebook cover sizes
  • Yes: Book cover templates
  • Yes: Images and fonts cleared for commercial use
  • Yes: Print-ready export
  • Yes: 3D mockups for promotion

As book mockup generators

Author Score · book mockup generators · #2 of 6 ·

Best for: Authors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics

BookBird Author Score7.1/10 #2 of 6 book mockup generators. Worked out from Canva’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts28.6/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the book mockup generators list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Canva’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 7 confirmed = 28.6 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts17.9/25Searches, 20 points: 2,400 a month for “canva book cover”, against Placeit, the most searched in this category (18,100), on a log scale = 15.9. Trend, 5 points: down 9% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 71.5 of 100 points= 7.1 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Canva’s own pages

  • Yes: 3D paperback and hardcover mockups
  • Not stated: Ebook and device mockups (not stated)
  • Yes: Photo scenes
  • Yes: Sizes for social posts and ads
  • Not stated: Animated or video mockups (not stated)
  • Not stated: High-resolution download (not stated)
  • Yes: Commercial use allowed

Canva pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as Canva’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Free
  • Pro: price in USD not confirmed
  • Business: $20 a month (per person, no seat minimum, per Canva newsroom 2025-10-30; Poland pricing page shows 700 zł/year per person)
  • Enterprise: price in USD not confirmed

canva.com/pricing renders prices by visitor country (PLN here) and returns 403 to curl and WebFetch; Pro USD price not verified. Free trials of Pro and Business are offered, length not stated on the pages read.

What Canva offers

From Canva’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Hundreds of book cover layouts sorted by genre
  • Millions of free and premium stock photos and graphics
  • Downloads as PNG, JPG or PDF
  • CMYK colours while designing and a CMYK file on download
  • Book mockup generator for promotion
  • Desktop apps for Windows and Mac plus iOS and Android apps
  • Pro and Business plans add premium content and AI tools

Runs on: web, Windows, Mac, iOS and Android. Exports: PNG, JPG and PDF. Launched: 2013.

Who Canva suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics.

Not confirmed on Canva’s pages when we checked: print covers sized for KDP, ebook and device mockups, animated or video mockups and high-resolution download. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 2,400 people a month search Google in the US for “canva book cover”, down 9% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Canva alternatives

Other book cover design

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
BookCoverZone8.3$99 one-timeAuthors who want a designer-made premade cover without commissioning one
DIY Book Covers8.2Free plan; paid from $19 one-timeBudget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs
Book Brush7.2$149 a yearAuthors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription
Venngage Book Cover Maker6.9Free plan; paid from $120 a yearAuthors already using a general web design tool on a subscription
KDP Cover Creator6.6FreeKDP-only authors needing a quick free cover inside KDP

Other book mockup generators

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Placeit8.8Free plan; paid from $89.69 a yearAuthors wanting book, Kindle and video mockups on one subscription
DIY Book Covers6.9Free plan; paid from $19 one-timeBudget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs
MockupsJar6.1FreeAuthors wanting quick free book or device mockups in the browser
Book Brush5.7$149 a yearAuthors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription
Mockup App5.4Free plan; paid from $99 a yearAuthors wanting free or low-cost high-resolution 3D book renders

Compare: All book cover design · All book mockup generators · All software for authors

Canva questions

How much does Canva cost?

Free plan; paid from $20 a month. Canva lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Canva run on?

web, Windows, Mac, iOS and Android, according to its own site.

What file formats can Canva export?

PNG, JPG and PDF, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Canva’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.