Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Author's Republic

Author's Republic Review: Price, Features and Score

Author's Republic at a glance: No upfront fee, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Author's Republic on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · audiobook production · #2 of 6 ·

Best for: Authors wanting a narrator marketplace and wide distribution beyond Audible

BookBird Author Score8.0/10 #2 of 6 audiobook production. Worked out from Author's Republic’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts33.3/50Each of the 6 author jobs on the audiobook production list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Author's Republic’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 6 confirmed = 33.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts21.4/25Searches, 20 points: 1,000 a month for “authors republic”, against ACX, the most searched in this category (2,900), on a log scale = 17.3. Trend, 5 points: up 30% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 4; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 79.7 of 100 points= 8.0 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Author's Republic’s own pages

  • Yes: Human narrators
  • Not stated: AI narration (not stated)
  • Yes: Distribution to stores
  • Not stated: Royalty share or pay up front (not stated)
  • Yes: Non-exclusive option
  • Yes: Royalty rate stated

Author's Republic pricing

The platform takes a share of sales. There is a free plan. The plans as Author's Republic’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Distribution: Free (no listing, submission or review fee; Author's Republic keeps 20% of royalties)
  • Narrator marketplace production: price in USD not confirmed
  • Managed production: price in USD not confirmed

Author keeps 80% of earned royalties from all channels.

What Author's Republic offers

From Author's Republic’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Self-service narrator marketplace with auditions and bids
  • Fully managed production option
  • Upload a finished recording from elsewhere
  • Distribution to retail, library and streaming channels incl. Audible, Apple, Spotify, Google Play, Hoopla, Libby
  • Payments to narrators held until both sides' terms are met
  • Unlimited free promo codes for giveaways and reviews
  • Opt out of any retailer you sell to directly

Runs on: web.

Who Author's Republic suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors wanting a narrator marketplace and wide distribution beyond Audible.

Not confirmed on Author's Republic’s pages when we checked: AI narration and royalty share or pay up front. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 1,000 people a month search Google in the US for “authors republic”, up 30% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Author's Republic alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
ACX8.9No upfront feeAuthors whose ebook is on Amazon and who want Audible distribution
ElevenLabs7.7Free plan; paid from $6 a monthAuthors wanting fast, low-cost AI narration with multi-voice casting
Voices by INaudio7.0No upfront feeAuthors with a finished audiobook who want wide, non-exclusive distribution
Google Play auto-narration5.0No upfront feeNonfiction authors already selling the ebook on Google Play
Kindle Virtual Voice5.0No upfront feeKDP authors invited to the beta who sell in the US

Compare: All audiobook production · All software for authors

Author's Republic questions

How much does Author's Republic cost?

No upfront fee. Author's Republic lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Author's Republic run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Author's Republic’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.