Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. ACX

ACX Review: Price, Features and Score

ACX at a glance: No upfront fee, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

ACX on the BookBird Author Score

8.9

Author Score · audiobook production · #1 of 6

Best for: Authors whose ebook is on Amazon and who want Audible distribution

  • Author jobs41.7/505 of 6 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25No upfront fee
  • Adoption22.2/252,900 US searches a month for “acx audiobook”, down 6% over 12 months

88.9 of 100 points = 8.9 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from ACX’s own pages

  • Yes: Human narrators
  • Not stated: AI narration (not stated)
  • Yes: Distribution to stores
  • Yes: Royalty share or pay up front
  • Yes: Non-exclusive option
  • Yes: Royalty rate stated

Visit ACX

ACX pricing

The platform takes a share of sales. There is a free plan. The plans as ACX’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • ACX account: Free (author pays the narrator, not ACX)
  • Pay-for-Production: price in USD not confirmed
  • Royalty Share: Free (no upfront fee; royalties split with the narrator; exclusive distribution required)
  • Royalty Share Plus: price in USD not confirmed

Royalty: exclusive 50% (new model) or 40% (legacy); non-exclusive 30% (new) or 25% (legacy). New model from May 26, 2026; legacy ends at year-end.

What ACX offers

From ACX’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Narrator marketplace with auditions and direct offers
  • Pay per finished hour, split royalties, or a hybrid
  • Upload your own finished audio instead (DIY)
  • Human quality review; titles can go live about ten days after submission
  • Distribution to Audible, Amazon and Apple Books in 9 marketplaces
  • Audio Lab checks files against submission requirements
  • Sales dashboard and promo codes (US and UK)
  • Monthly payments; 7-year distribution term

Runs on: web. Launched: 2011.

Who ACX suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors whose ebook is on Amazon and who want Audible distribution.

Not confirmed on ACX’s pages when we checked: aI narration. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 2,900 people a month search Google in the US for “acx audiobook”, down 6% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

ACX alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Author's Republic8.0No upfront feeAuthors wanting a narrator marketplace and wide distribution beyond Audible
ElevenLabs7.7Free plan; paid from $6 a monthAuthors wanting fast, low-cost AI narration with multi-voice casting
Voices by INaudio7.0No upfront feeAuthors with a finished audiobook who want wide, non-exclusive distribution
Google Play auto-narration6.7No upfront feeNonfiction authors already selling the ebook on Google Play
Kindle Virtual Voice6.7No upfront feeKDP authors invited to the beta who sell in the US

Compare: All audiobook production · All software for authors

ACX questions

How much does ACX cost?

No upfront fee. ACX lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does ACX run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from ACX’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.