Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Affinity

Affinity Review: Price, Features and Score

Affinity at a glance: Free, on Windows and Mac. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Affinity on the BookBird Author Score

Affinity does more than one job, so it is scored in each of its categories: book formatting and book cover design. Each score compares it only with the other products in that category.

As book formatting

6.5

Author Score · book formatting · #7 of 10

Best for: Authors laying out print books by hand at no cost

  • Author jobs18.8/503 of 8 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25Free plan (Affinity)
  • Adoption21.2/2512,100 US searches a month for “affinity publisher”, down 3% over 12 months

64.9 of 100 points = 6.5 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from Affinity’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Not stated: Ready-made book designs (not stated)
  • Not stated: Device and print preview (not stated)
  • Not stated: Imports a Word file (not stated)
  • Not stated: Front and back matter (not stated)
  • Yes: Full-bleed images
  • Not stated: Several editions from one file (not stated)

Visit Affinity

As book cover design

5.6

Author Score · book cover design · #6 of 8

Best for: Authors laying out print books by hand at no cost

  • Author jobs8.3/501 of 6 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25Free plan (Affinity)
  • Adoption22.4/2512,100 US searches a month for “affinity publisher”, down 3% over 12 months

55.7 of 100 points = 5.6 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from Affinity’s own pages

  • Not stated: Print covers sized for KDP (not stated)
  • Not stated: Ebook cover sizes (not stated)
  • Not stated: Book cover templates (not stated)
  • Not stated: Images and fonts cleared for commercial use (not stated)
  • Yes: Print-ready export
  • Not stated: 3D mockups for promotion (not stated)

Affinity pricing

Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Affinity’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Affinity: Free (needs a free Canva account)
  • Canva AI tools in Affinity: price in USD not confirmed

Vendor FAQ: every tool in the Pixel, Vector and Layout studios is free with no restrictions; only Canva AI features need a paid Canva plan.

What Affinity offers

From Affinity’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • One app combining vector, pixel and page-layout studios
  • Smart master pages and shared text styles
  • Flows long text and images across pages
  • Advanced typography: kerning, ligatures, OpenType, variable fonts
  • Exports PDF with bleed and crop marks, and EPUB
  • Opens InDesign IDML files
  • Data Merge for generated layouts
  • Optional Canva AI tools with a Canva premium plan

Runs on: Windows and Mac. Exports: PDF (with bleed/crop marks), EPUB, SVG, JPEG, PNG and TIFF.

Who Affinity suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors laying out print books by hand at no cost.

Not confirmed on Affinity’s pages when we checked: ready-made book designs, device and print preview, imports a Word file, front and back matter, several editions from one file, print covers sized for KDP, ebook cover sizes, book cover templates, images and fonts cleared for commercial use and 3D mockups for promotion. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 12,100 people a month search Google in the US for “affinity publisher”, down 3% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Affinity alternatives

Other book formatting

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Atticus7.8$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Vellum7.1$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Reedsy Studio6.9Free plan; paid from $52.99 a year (add-on)Authors wanting free typesetting and real-time editor collaboration

Other book cover design

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Canva8.5Free plan; paid from $20 a monthAuthors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics
BookCoverZone8.3$99 one-timeAuthors who want a designer-made premade cover without commissioning one
DIY Book Covers8.2Free plan; paid from $19 one-timeBudget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs
Book Brush7.2$149 a yearAuthors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription
KDP Cover Creator6.6FreeKDP-only authors needing a quick free cover inside KDP

Compare: All book formatting · All book cover design · All software for authors

Affinity questions

How much does Affinity cost?

Free. Affinity lists 2 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Affinity run on?

Windows and Mac, according to its own site.

What file formats can Affinity export?

PDF (with bleed/crop marks), EPUB, SVG, JPEG, PNG and TIFF, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Affinity’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.