Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. World Anvil

World Anvil Review: Price, Features and Score

World Anvil at a glance: Free plan, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

World Anvil on the BookBird Author Score

8.0

Author Score · story planning & worldbuilding · #4 of 9

Best for: Worldbuilders and fantasy authors who work in a browser

  • Author jobs35.7/505 of 7 author jobs confirmed on the vendor’s pages
  • Cost25/25Free plan (Freeman (free account))
  • Adoption19.5/2527,100 US searches a month for “world anvil”, down 18% over 12 months

80.2 of 100 points = 8.0 out of 10. How this score is calculated

Author jobs, from World Anvil’s own pages

  • Yes: Outline board or plot cards
  • Not stated: Story structure templates (not stated)
  • Yes: Character profiles
  • Yes: Worldbuilding (places, maps, lore)
  • Yes: Timeline view
  • Not stated: Exports the outline or connects to a writing app (not stated)
  • Yes: Sharing or collaboration

Visit World Anvil

World Anvil pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as World Anvil’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Freeman (free account) (content limits; per an April 2024 blog post, 42 articles)
  • Guild membership: price in USD not confirmed

Every worldanvil.com page (home, /pricing, /features, /learn) returned HTTP 403 with a Cloudflare 'Just a moment' challenge, to both curl and WebFetch. The challenge was not bypassed, so no paid prices were confirmed. The free plan and the paid 'guild' are confirmed on the vendor's blog (blog.worldanvil.com).

What World Anvil offers

From World Anvil’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Wiki-style articles built on templates, among them characters and languages, with prompts to fill in
  • Interactive maps with markers that world search can find
  • Chronicles, timelines and historical events for multi-POV plots
  • Whiteboards for arranging plot threads and visual planning
  • Manuscripts: a novel editor with chapters and scenes, labels, word-count stats and search across the world
  • Co-owners and co-authors can work in a world, with edit locking to avoid conflicts
  • Manuscripts can be published to chosen readers, beta readers or subscribers
  • Notebooks for quick notes, with metadata and templates

Runs on: web. Exports: HTML. Launched: 2018.

Who World Anvil suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Worldbuilders and fantasy authors who work in a browser.

Not confirmed on World Anvil’s pages when we checked: story structure templates and exports the outline or connects to a writing app. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 27,100 people a month search Google in the US for “world anvil”, down 18% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

World Anvil alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Milanote9.0Free plan; paid from $9.99 a month (billed yearly)Visual planners who want a free tier and shared boards
Campfire8.5Free plan; paid from $12 a monthFantasy and sci-fi authors building large worlds, starting on a free plan
Aeon Timeline8.1$65 one-timeAuthors with complex chronologies who prefer a one-time purchase
LegendKeeper7.8Free plan; paid from $90 a yearGame masters and fantasy writers building a shared world
Plot Factory7.2Free plan; paid from $90 a yearWriters who want a free browser planner that also works on phones

Compare: All story planning & worldbuilding · All software for authors

World Anvil questions

How much does World Anvil cost?

Free plan. World Anvil lists 2 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does World Anvil run on?

web, according to its own site.

What file formats can World Anvil export?

HTML, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from World Anvil’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.