Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Plot Factory

Plot Factory Review: Price, Features and Score

Plot Factory at a glance: Free plan; paid from $90 a year, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Plot Factory on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · story planning & worldbuilding · #6 of 9 ·

Best for: Writers who want a free browser planner that also works on phones

BookBird Author Score7.2/10 #6 of 9 story planning & worldbuilding. Worked out from Plot Factory’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts35.7/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the story planning & worldbuilding list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Plot Factory’s own pages confirm it. 5 of 7 confirmed = 35.7 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts11.1/25Searches, 20 points: 390 a month for “plot factory”, against Milanote, the most searched in this category (90,500), on a log scale = 10.5. Trend, 5 points: down 38% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 0.6; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 71.8 of 100 points= 7.2 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Plot Factory’s own pages

  • Yes: Outline board or plot cards
  • Yes: Story structure templates
  • Yes: Character profiles
  • Yes: Worldbuilding (places, maps, lore)
  • No: Timeline view (no)
  • Not stated: Exports the outline or connects to a writing app (not stated)
  • Yes: Sharing or collaboration

Plot Factory pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. Free trial: 14 days. The plans as Plot Factory’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Basic: Free (1 story, 1 universe, 250-word narrations per day)
  • Hobbyist: $9 a month
  • Hobbyist: $90 a year
  • Enthusiast: $14 a month (adds plot organizer, story questionnaires)
  • Enthusiast: $140 a year
  • Novelist: $19 a month (adds ePub export, drafts/versioning, word analysis)
  • Novelist: $190 a year

USD prices from the plotfactory.com home page pricing block (legacy version). The 14-day free trial covers the premium plans.

What Plot Factory offers

From Plot Factory’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Plot organizer: plot points grouped into acts and reordered
  • Pre-made story outline templates and plot helper outlines
  • Built-in or custom character sheets, with avatars and a name generator
  • Universe notebook, place keeper and objects for worldbuilding across books
  • Manuscript editor with chapters and scenes and per-scene viewpoint
  • Novel export to Word, ePub, text, PDF or HTML
  • Read-only links to share chapters or the whole novel, no account needed to read
  • Text-to-speech narration and word-count goals

Runs on: web. Exports: DOCX, EPUB, TXT, PDF and HTML.

Who Plot Factory suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Writers who want a free browser planner that also works on phones.

Not confirmed on Plot Factory’s pages when we checked: timeline view and exports the outline or connects to a writing app. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 390 people a month search Google in the US for “plot factory”, down 38% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Plot Factory alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Milanote9.0Free plan; paid from $9.99 a month (billed yearly)Visual planners who want a free tier and shared boards
Campfire8.5Free plan; paid from $12 a monthFantasy and sci-fi authors building large worlds, starting on a free plan
Aeon Timeline8.1$65 one-timeAuthors with complex chronologies who prefer a one-time purchase
World Anvil8.0Free planWorldbuilders and fantasy authors who work in a browser
LegendKeeper7.8Free plan; paid from $90 a yearGame masters and fantasy writers building a shared world

Compare: All story planning & worldbuilding · All software for authors

Plot Factory questions

How much does Plot Factory cost?

Free plan; paid from $90 a year. Plot Factory lists 7 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Plot Factory run on?

web, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Plot Factory?

Yes, 14 days.

What file formats can Plot Factory export?

DOCX, EPUB, TXT, PDF and HTML, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Plot Factory’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.