Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Campfire

Campfire Review: Price, Features and Score

Campfire at a glance: Free plan; paid from $12 a month, on web, Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Campfire on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · story planning & worldbuilding · #2 of 9 ·

Best for: Fantasy and sci-fi authors building large worlds, starting on a free plan

BookBird Author Score8.5/10 #2 of 9 story planning & worldbuilding. Worked out from Campfire’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts42.9/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the story planning & worldbuilding list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Campfire’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 7 confirmed = 42.9 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts16.8/25Searches, 20 points: 2,900 a month for “campfire writing”, against Milanote, the most searched in this category (90,500), on a log scale = 14. Trend, 5 points: up 6% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.8; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 84.6 of 100 points= 8.5 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Campfire’s own pages

  • Yes: Outline board or plot cards
  • Yes: Story structure templates
  • Yes: Character profiles
  • Yes: Worldbuilding (places, maps, lore)
  • Yes: Timeline view
  • Not stated: Exports the outline or connects to a writing app (not stated)
  • Yes: Sharing or collaboration

Campfire pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as Campfire’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Free (limited elements per module, e.g. 25,000 manuscript words, 10 characters, 20 timeline events, 2 maps)
  • Standard Monthly: $12 a month (list $19)
  • Standard Annual: price in USD not confirmed
  • Standard Lifetime: price in USD not confirmed
  • Build Your Own: price in USD not confirmed

Only the monthly USD price appears in the server-rendered page. Annual and lifetime prices load client-side by location and did not come back in USD. Refund within 30 days for annual and lifetime; monthly is non-refundable.

What Campfire offers

From Campfire’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • 18 linked modules, among them manuscript, characters, timeline, maps, calendar, encyclopedia, magic, languages, species and cultures
  • Free plot templates in the Timeline module, among them 3 Act, Save the Cat, Hero's Journey and Story Grid
  • Character sheets built from 100+ attributes, plus personality profiles
  • Interactive maps with pinned locations linked to world entries
  • Unlimited collaborators who can view, comment or edit
  • Manuscript compile to print-ready PDF or EPUB; DOCX or EPUB import split into chapters
  • Browser app, offline desktop app and a free mobile app (CF Creators)
  • Word-count goals and progress statuses

Runs on: web, Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Exports: PDF and EPUB. Works offline. Launched: 2018.

Who Campfire suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Fantasy and sci-fi authors building large worlds, starting on a free plan.

Not confirmed on Campfire’s pages when we checked: exports the outline or connects to a writing app. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 2,900 people a month search Google in the US for “campfire writing”, up 6% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Campfire alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Milanote9.0Free plan; paid from $9.99 a month (billed yearly)Visual planners who want a free tier and shared boards
Aeon Timeline8.1$65 one-timeAuthors with complex chronologies who prefer a one-time purchase
World Anvil8.0Free planWorldbuilders and fantasy authors who work in a browser
LegendKeeper7.8Free plan; paid from $90 a yearGame masters and fantasy writers building a shared world
Plot Factory7.2Free plan; paid from $90 a yearWriters who want a free browser planner that also works on phones

Compare: All story planning & worldbuilding · All software for authors

Campfire questions

How much does Campfire cost?

Free plan; paid from $12 a month. Campfire lists 5 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Campfire run on?

web, Mac, Windows, iOS and Android, according to its own site.

What file formats can Campfire export?

PDF and EPUB, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Campfire’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.