Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Squarespace

Squarespace Review: Price, Features and Score

Squarespace: General-purpose website builder with templates, store and email campaigns. $19 a month (billed yearly), on web, iOS and Android. We did not test it; the facts come from its own pages.

Prices and data checked October 14, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Squarespace on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · author website builders · #8 of 8 ·

Best for: Authors who want a designed site with a built-in store

BookBird Author Score7.1/10 #8 of 8 author website builders. Worked out from Squarespace’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts42.9/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the author website builders list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Squarespace’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 7 confirmed = 42.9 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts5/25Squarespace costs $228 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest author website builders product with a US price, Squarespace at $228 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $228 = 5 points.Adoption25 pts22.8/25Searches, 20 points: 673,000 a month for “squarespace”, the most searched in this category, so the full 20. Trend, 5 points: up 6% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.8; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 70.7 of 100 points= 7.1 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Squarespace’s own pages

  • Yes: Book pages with store links
  • Not stated: Templates made for authors (not stated)
  • Yes: Newsletter sign-up
  • Yes: Your own domain
  • Yes: Blog or news page
  • Yes: Sell books from the site
  • Yes: Search settings you control

Squarespace pricing

Subscription. Free trial: 14 days. Plans, in US dollars:

  • Basic (annual): $19 a month (per month, billed annually; 'plans start at $19 per month when paid annually' per the vendor FAQ; annual plans include one year of free domain registration; 2% commerce transaction fee)
  • Basic (monthly): price in USD not confirmed
  • Core: price in USD not confirmed
  • Plus: price in USD not confirmed
  • Advanced: price in USD not confirmed

Squarespace prices per billing country; its pricing page and JSON-LD say so and served only PLN from Poland (no USD via ?currency, ?country or cookies). The only USD figure on a vendor page is the FAQ line 'Plans start at $19 per month when paid annually'. No free plan; every site starts with a 14-day trial with no credit card. Annual plans include one free domain for the first year; you can also connect a domain you own.

What Squarespace offers

  • Every plan can sell physical products, services and digital products with no product cap
  • Basic plan: up to 1,000 pages and two contributors, 2% commerce fee
  • Newsletter blocks for mailing-list sign-ups and a Mailchimp integration; Email Campaigns sold separately
  • Blog pages; paywalled content and memberships with a fee
  • Automatic sitemap; SEO title and description per page
  • Annual plans include a free custom domain for the first year; any plan can attach domains you own
  • Vendor author-site guide covers book pages, store links and a newsletter
  • 14-day free trial, no credit card

Runs on: web, iOS and Android. Needs an internet connection. Launched: 2003.

Squarespace alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Wix9.7Free plan; paid from $17 a month (billed yearly)Authors who want author templates and a free starter site
WordPress.com8.2Free plan; paid from $48 a yearAuthors who blog or send posts as a newsletter on WordPress
BookBub Author Websites8.1Free plan; paid from $7.99 a month (billed yearly)Authors wanting a free author site with built-in email sign-ups
HostingAuthors7.5Free plan; paid from $90 a yearAuthors who want a free, permanent page for one book and room to grow into an author hub
Tertulia author websites7.5$7.99 a month (billed yearly)Authors selling ebooks and audiobooks direct without per-sale fees

Compare: All author website builders · All software for authors

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step.