WordPress.com on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · author website builders · #2 of 7 ·
Best for: Authors who blog or send posts as a newsletter on WordPress
Author jobs, from WordPress.com’s own pages
- Not stated: Book pages with store links (not stated)
- Yes: Templates made for authors
- Yes: Newsletter sign-up
- Yes: Your own domain
- Yes: Blog or news page
- Yes: Sell books from the site
- Yes: Search settings you control
WordPress.com pricing
Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as WordPress.com’s own site listed them on October 14, 2026, in US dollars:
- Free (site on a .wordpress.com address with WordPress.com ads shown to visitors; custom domains need a paid plan)
- Personal (annual): $48 a year (USD 4/month equivalent; cheapest plan for connecting a custom domain; free domain for the first year; no ads; plugins and premium themes)
- Personal (monthly): $9 a month (same features billed monthly; no free domain year (that needs an annual or longer plan))
- Premium (annual): $96 a year (payment buttons via PayPal and Stripe, SEO title and description tools, video uploads)
- Premium (monthly): $18 a month (same features billed monthly)
- Business (annual): $300 a year (priority support, MailPoet email marketing to 500 subscribers, backups, SFTP/SSH)
- Business (monthly): $40 a month (same features billed monthly)
- Commerce (annual): $540 a year (WooCommerce online store)
- Commerce (monthly): $70 a month (same features billed monthly)
USD prices from the vendor's public plans API (public-api.wordpress.com/rest/v1.5/plans?currency=USD), which returns list prices only. The pricing page served to Poland shows PLN with a first-year discount (e.g. Personal PLN 144 first year, then PLN 168), so the US page may also show a first-year discount that this API answer does not include. 2- and 3-year terms are also sold.
What WordPress.com offers
From WordPress.com’s own pages, checked on October 14, 2026:
- Free plan on a .wordpress.com address, with ads
- Theme filter for author and writer sites, with free and premium themes
- Every site can collect subscribers and email new posts as a newsletter
- Connect a domain from another registrar free on any paid plan; first year free on annual plans
- Payment buttons for PayPal and Stripe from Premium; WooCommerce store on Commerce
- Automatic XML sitemap; editable SEO titles and front-page meta description from Premium
- Plugins and premium themes from Personal upward
- Affiliate program covering WordPress.com hosting and other Automattic products
Runs on: web and iOS. Needs an internet connection.
Who WordPress.com suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors who blog or send posts as a newsletter on WordPress.
Not confirmed on WordPress.com’s pages when we checked: book pages with store links. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 6,600 people a month search Google in the US for “wordpress.com”, down 24% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
WordPress.com alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | 9.7 | Free plan; paid from $17 a month (billed yearly) | Authors who want author templates and a free starter site |
| BookBub Author Websites | 8.1 | Free plan; paid from $7.99 a month (billed yearly) | Authors wanting a free author site with built-in email sign-ups |
| Tertulia author websites | 7.5 | $7.99 a month (billed yearly) | Authors selling ebooks and audiobooks direct without per-sale fees |
| Weblium | 7.4 | $132 a year | Authors on a budget who want an e-book store template |
| Carrd | 7.3 | Free plan; paid from $9 a year | Authors who need a single landing page with an email sign-up |
Compare: All author website builders · All software for authors
WordPress.com questions
How much does WordPress.com cost?
Free plan; paid from $48 a year. WordPress.com lists 9 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does WordPress.com run on?
web and iOS, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from WordPress.com’s own site on October 14, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.