Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Scapple

Scapple Review: Price, Features and Score

Scapple at a glance: $20.99 one-time, on Mac and Windows. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Scapple on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · story planning & worldbuilding · #9 of 9 ·

Best for: Writers who brainstorm visually and want a cheap one-time desktop licence

BookBird Author Score5.2/10 #9 of 9 story planning & worldbuilding. Worked out from Scapple’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts14.3/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the story planning & worldbuilding list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Scapple’s own pages confirm it. 2 of 7 confirmed = 14.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts22.2/25Scapple costs $7 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest story planning & worldbuilding product with a US price, Plottr at $50 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $7 = 22.2 points.Adoption25 pts15.5/25Searches, 20 points: 2,900 a month for “scapple”, against Milanote, the most searched in this category (90,500), on a log scale = 14. Trend, 5 points: down 19% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.5; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 52 of 100 points= 5.2 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Scapple’s own pages

  • Yes: Outline board or plot cards
  • Not stated: Story structure templates (not stated)
  • Not stated: Character profiles (not stated)
  • Not stated: Worldbuilding (places, maps, lore) (not stated)
  • Not stated: Timeline view (not stated)
  • Yes: Exports the outline or connects to a writing app
  • Not stated: Sharing or collaboration (not stated)

Scapple pricing

One-time licence. Free trial: 30 days. The plans as Scapple’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Standard Licence for macOS: $20.99 one-time
  • Standard Licence for Windows: $20.99 one-time
  • Educational Licence (macOS / Windows): price in USD not confirmed

USD prices come from the Paddle price API that the official store uses (product ids 558664 macOS, 558666 Windows, customer_country=US); the store page renders prices client-side. Licences are per platform and cover the household. Minor updates are free, major versions are paid. The trial counts 30 days of use.

What Scapple offers

From Scapple’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Notes placed anywhere on an endless page, created by double-clicking
  • Notes connected with lines or arrows by drag and drop, with no forced hierarchy
  • Related notes stacked in columns, and background shapes to group them
  • Note appearance can be customised
  • Full-screen mode
  • Export or print the board
  • Notes can be dragged into Scrivener
  • Desktop app with a household licence

Runs on: Mac and Windows. Works offline. Launched: 2013.

Who Scapple suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Writers who brainstorm visually and want a cheap one-time desktop licence.

Not confirmed on Scapple’s pages when we checked: story structure templates, character profiles, worldbuilding (places, maps, lore), timeline view and sharing or collaboration. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 2,900 people a month search Google in the US for “scapple”, down 19% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Scapple alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Milanote9.0Free plan; paid from $9.99 a month (billed yearly)Visual planners who want a free tier and shared boards
Campfire8.5Free plan; paid from $12 a monthFantasy and sci-fi authors building large worlds, starting on a free plan
Aeon Timeline8.1$65 one-timeAuthors with complex chronologies who prefer a one-time purchase
World Anvil8.0Free planWorldbuilders and fantasy authors who work in a browser
LegendKeeper7.8Free plan; paid from $90 a yearGame masters and fantasy writers building a shared world

Compare: All story planning & worldbuilding · All software for authors

Scapple questions

How much does Scapple cost?

$20.99 one-time. Scapple lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Scapple run on?

Mac and Windows, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Scapple?

Yes, 30 days.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Scapple’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.