Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Kotobee Author

Kotobee Author Review: Price, Features and Score

Kotobee Author: Desktop interactive ebook editor exporting EPUB, Kindle, PDF, Word and apps. Free plan; paid from $150 one-time, on Windows, Mac and Linux. We did not test it; the facts come from its own pages.

Prices and data checked October 14, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Kotobee Author on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book formatting · #7 of 13 ·

Best for: Authors of interactive or illustrated ebooks wanting a free desktop tool

BookBird Author Score6.7/10 #7 of 13 book formatting. Worked out from Kotobee Author’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts31.3/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Kotobee Author’s own pages confirm it. 5 of 8 confirmed = 31.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts10.9/25Searches, 20 points: 170 a month for “kotobee”, against Adobe InDesign, the most searched in this category (22,200), on a log scale = 10.3. Trend, 5 points: down 38% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 0.6; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 67.1 of 100 points= 6.7 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Kotobee Author’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Not stated: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes (not stated)
  • Yes: Ready-made book designs
  • Yes: Device and print preview
  • Yes: Imports a Word file
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Not stated: Several editions from one file (not stated)

Kotobee Author pricing

Free plan + paid plans, one-time option. There is a free plan. Plans, in US dollars:

  • Free (1 user, lifetime; exports EPUB, PDF, web and desktop apps; free serial number required)
  • Basic (1 user): $150 one-time (lifetime licence, removes Kotobee watermark, adds branding and AI content generation, 1 year of free upgrades; 3/10/100-user versions $350/$800/$4000)
  • Premium (1 user): $300 one-time (lifetime licence, adds encrypted EPUB, SCORM reporting and 5 mobile app exports, 1 year of free upgrades; 3/10/100-user versions $700/$1800/$8000)
  • Institutional (10 users): $2,000 one-time (training, premium support, 60 mobile apps; 25/50/100-user versions $4000/$7000/$10000)
  • Mobile app credits: $30 one-time (add-on: 1 native Android/iOS app export; 10 for $150, 100 for $500)

Author licences are lifetime one-time payments in USD (from the pricing data embedded in the pricing page); the page's monthly/annual toggle applies to the separate Library and Cloud products, not to Author.

What Kotobee Author offers

  • Imports DOCX, PDF and HTML; opens existing EPUB files
  • Standard exports: EPUB, encrypted EPUB, Kindle (MOBI), PDF and Word
  • 80+ ebook templates, some free and most premium
  • Emulated preview on 20+ devices
  • Auto-generated table of contents page with chosen placement
  • Interactive content: video, audio, quizzes and widgets
  • Exports as web, desktop and native mobile apps; SCORM/LMS on Premium
  • Library of 3 million+ free photos and video clips

Runs on: Windows, Mac and Linux. Exports: EPUB, MOBI, PDF, DOCX, HTML5 web app, desktop app, Android app, iOS app and SCORM. Launched: 2016.

Kotobee Author alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital Formatter9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus8.9$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Vellum8.6$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Bookow7.4$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

Compare: All book formatting · All software for authors

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step.