Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Adobe InDesign

Adobe InDesign Review: Price, Features and Score

Adobe InDesign at a glance: Not confirmed in USD, on Windows and Mac. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Adobe InDesign on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · book formatting · #12 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors or designers wanting full manual control over book layout

BookBird Author Score5.3/10 #12 of 12 book formatting. Worked out from Adobe InDesign’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts18.8/50Each of the 8 author jobs on the book formatting list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Adobe InDesign’s own pages confirm it. 3 of 8 confirmed = 18.8 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts—No price in US dollars could be confirmed on Adobe InDesign’s site, so Cost is left out and the score is taken over the other parts.Adoption25 pts21.1/25Searches, 20 points: 22,200 a month for “adobe indesign”, the most searched in this category, so the full 20. Trend, 5 points: down 28% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.1; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 39.8 of 75 points= 5.3 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Adobe InDesign’s own pages

  • Yes: EPUB for ebook stores
  • Yes: Print-ready PDF in KDP trim sizes
  • Not stated: Ready-made book designs (not stated)
  • Not stated: Device and print preview (not stated)
  • Not stated: Imports a Word file (not stated)
  • Yes: Front and back matter
  • Not stated: Full-bleed images (not stated)
  • Not stated: Several editions from one file (not stated)

No USD price could be confirmed, so Cost is left out.

Adobe InDesign pricing

Subscription. Free trial: 7 days. The plans as Adobe InDesign’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • InDesign (single app): price in USD not confirmed
  • Creative Cloud Pro: price in USD not confirmed

adobe.com shows prices by visitor country and rendered only EUR from Poland; USD could not be confirmed, so prices are null.

What Adobe InDesign offers

From Adobe InDesign’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Multipage layouts with typography controls
  • Export reflowable or fixed-layout EPUB
  • PDF/X export presets for print
  • Table of contents generated from paragraph styles
  • Book panel to combine documents
  • Convert a PDF into an editable InDesign document
  • AI-assisted Rewrite and alt-text generation
  • Single app or part of Creative Cloud Pro

Runs on: Windows and Mac. Exports: EPUB (reflowable), EPUB (fixed layout), PDF and PDF/X.

Who Adobe InDesign suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors or designers wanting full manual control over book layout.

Not confirmed on Adobe InDesign’s pages when we checked: ready-made book designs, device and print preview, imports a Word file, full-bleed images and several editions from one file. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 22,200 people a month search Google in the US for “adobe indesign”, down 28% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Adobe InDesign alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Draft2Digital Formatter9.0Free planAuthors wanting free EPUB and paperback PDF, publishing wide or not
Atticus8.9$147 one-timeSelf-publishers who write and format in one app, any OS
Kindle Create8.6FreeKDP authors wanting free, simple formatting for text-heavy books
Vellum8.6$199.99 one-timeMac-based authors formatting many books for a one-time price
Bookow7.4$80 one-timeAuthors wanting a typeset KDP-ready interior per book, no software

Compare: All book formatting · All software for authors

Adobe InDesign questions

How much does Adobe InDesign cost?

Not confirmed in USD. Adobe InDesign lists 2 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Adobe InDesign run on?

Windows and Mac, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Adobe InDesign?

Yes, 7 days.

What file formats can Adobe InDesign export?

EPUB (reflowable), EPUB (fixed layout), PDF and PDF/X, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Adobe InDesign’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.