Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Carrd

Carrd Review: Price, Features and Score

Carrd: One-page site builder with a free tier and low yearly Pro plans. Free plan; paid from $9 a year, on web. We did not test it; the facts come from its own pages.

Prices and data checked October 14, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Carrd on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · author website builders · #7 of 8 ·

Best for: Authors who need a single landing page with an email sign-up

BookBird Author Score7.3/10 #7 of 8 author website builders. Worked out from Carrd’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts28.6/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the author website builders list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Carrd’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 7 confirmed = 28.6 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts19.2/25Searches, 20 points: 90,500 a month for “carrd”, against Squarespace, the most searched in this category (673,000), on a log scale = 17. Trend, 5 points: down 6% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.2; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 72.8 of 100 points= 7.3 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Carrd’s own pages

  • Not stated: Book pages with store links (not stated)
  • Not stated: Templates made for authors (not stated)
  • Yes: Newsletter sign-up
  • Yes: Your own domain
  • No: Blog or news page (no)
  • Yes: Sell books from the site
  • Yes: Search settings you control

Carrd pricing

Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. Free trial: 7 days. Plans, in US dollars:

  • Free (up to three sites on Carrd addresses with Carrd branding)
  • Pro Lite: $9 a year (3 sites, premium URLs (unbranded .crd.co style), no branding; no custom domain, forms or widgets)
  • Pro Standard: $19 a year (cheapest plan with custom domains; 10 sites; contact and sign-up forms, widgets, embeds, meta tags)
  • Pro Plus: $49 a year (25 sites; advanced forms including Stripe Checkout payments, redirects, canonical URL)

All Pro plans are billed yearly; larger site-count tiers exist (Pro Standard up to 1000 sites at $599/year, Pro Plus up to $999/year). The 7-day Pro trial needs no card and covers a subset of features including custom domains and forms.

What Carrd offers

  • Builds responsive one-page sites from templates or a blank page
  • Free tier for up to three sites
  • Sign-up forms feeding about 20 email services, including Mailchimp, Kit, MailerLite and beehiiv (Pro Standard)
  • Custom domains with Let's Encrypt SSL from Pro Standard
  • Payment-enabled forms through Stripe Checkout on Pro Plus; Stripe, PayPal and Gumroad widgets on Pro Standard
  • Automatic sitemap.xml on every site; custom meta tags on Pro Standard
  • Pro plans priced per year rather than per month
  • 7-day Pro trial without a card

Runs on: web. Launched: 2016.

Carrd alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Wix9.7Free plan; paid from $17 a month (billed yearly)Authors who want author templates and a free starter site
WordPress.com8.2Free plan; paid from $48 a yearAuthors who blog or send posts as a newsletter on WordPress
BookBub Author Websites8.1Free plan; paid from $7.99 a month (billed yearly)Authors wanting a free author site with built-in email sign-ups
HostingAuthors7.5Free plan; paid from $90 a yearAuthors who want a free, permanent page for one book and room to grow into an author hub
Tertulia author websites7.5$7.99 a month (billed yearly)Authors selling ebooks and audiobooks direct without per-sale fees

Compare: All author website builders · All software for authors

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step.