KDP Cover Creator on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book cover design · #5 of 8
Best for: KDP-only authors needing a quick free cover inside KDP
65.6 of 100 points = 6.6 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from KDP Cover Creator’s own pages
- Yes: Print covers sized for KDP
- Yes: Ebook cover sizes
- Yes: Book cover templates
- Not stated: Images and fonts cleared for commercial use (not stated)
- No: Print-ready export (no)
- Not stated: 3D mockups for promotion (not stated)
KDP Cover Creator pricing
Free. There is a free plan. The plans as KDP Cover Creator’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Cover Creator: Free (part of KDP title setup)
Free tool inside Kindle Direct Publishing; covers made with it are used only on KDP.
What KDP Cover Creator offers
From KDP Cover Creator’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Builds ebook, paperback and hardcover covers within KDP
- Spine width follows the page count of the uploaded interior
- Adds the book's ISBN barcode to the back cover automatically
- Template and layout choices with font and colour formatting
- Image gallery or your own JPG, PNG or TIFF uploads (300 DPI minimum)
- Back cover description and author photo areas
- Warnings for low-resolution images and text outside safe areas
Runs on: web. Needs an internet connection.
Who KDP Cover Creator suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: KDP-only authors needing a quick free cover inside KDP.
Not confirmed on KDP Cover Creator’s pages when we checked: images and fonts cleared for commercial use, print-ready export and 3D mockups for promotion. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 390 people a month search Google in the US for “kdp cover creator”, up 8% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
KDP Cover Creator alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | 8.5 | Free plan; paid from $20 a month | Authors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics |
| BookCoverZone | 8.3 | $99 one-time | Authors who want a designer-made premade cover without commissioning one |
| DIY Book Covers | 8.2 | Free plan; paid from $19 one-time | Budget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs |
| Book Brush | 7.2 | $149 a year | Authors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription |
| Affinity | 5.6 | Free | Authors laying out print books by hand at no cost |
Compare: All book cover design · All software for authors
KDP Cover Creator questions
How much does KDP Cover Creator cost?
Free.
What does KDP Cover Creator run on?
web, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from KDP Cover Creator’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.