Adobe Express on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · book cover design · #7 of 8
Best for: Authors wanting free cover templates on web or mobile
47.7 of 100 points = 4.8 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Adobe Express’s own pages
- Not stated: Print covers sized for KDP (not stated)
- Not stated: Ebook cover sizes (not stated)
- Yes: Book cover templates
- Not stated: Images and fonts cleared for commercial use (not stated)
- Not stated: Print-ready export (not stated)
- Not stated: 3D mockups for promotion (not stated)
Adobe Express pricing
Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. Free trial: 30 days. The plans as Adobe Express’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Adobe Express Free
- Adobe Express Premium: $9.99 a month (no annual commitment; 30-day free trial; 250 generative credits per month)
- Adobe Firefly Pro: $19.99 a month (Express Premium plus 4,000 credits and Photoshop on web and mobile; 7-day trial)
- Adobe Express Teams: $7.99 a month (per licence, annual commitment billed monthly; US$4.99 first-year promotion; 2-seat minimum)
USD prices from the vendor's own price API (web_commerce_artifact, country=US) used by adobe.com/express/pricing, and confirmed via a US fetch of the page; the page shows EUR from Poland.
What Adobe Express offers
From Adobe Express’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Thousands of book cover templates or a blank canvas
- Custom canvas sizes; FAQ lists common trim sizes up to 6x9 in
- Download to device or export as PDF for print
- Brand kit for logo, fonts and colours on Premium
- Adobe Stock photos and Adobe Fonts inside the editor
- Generative AI credits, more on paid plans
- Any design can be saved as a reusable template
Runs on: web, iOS and Android. Exports: PNG, JPG and PDF. Launched: 2021.
Who Adobe Express suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors wanting free cover templates on web or mobile.
Not confirmed on Adobe Express’s pages when we checked: print covers sized for KDP, ebook cover sizes, images and fonts cleared for commercial use, print-ready export and 3D mockups for promotion. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 90 people a month search Google in the US for “adobe express book cover”, up 46% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Adobe Express alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | 8.5 | Free plan; paid from $20 a month | Authors on a budget making ebook covers and promo graphics |
| BookCoverZone | 8.3 | $99 one-time | Authors who want a designer-made premade cover without commissioning one |
| DIY Book Covers | 8.2 | Free plan; paid from $19 one-time | Budget authors wanting AI-made ebook covers with one-time credit packs |
| Book Brush | 7.2 | $149 a year | Authors who want covers plus ad graphics in one yearly web subscription |
| KDP Cover Creator | 6.6 | Free | KDP-only authors needing a quick free cover inside KDP |
Compare: All book cover design · All software for authors
Adobe Express questions
How much does Adobe Express cost?
Free plan; paid from $7.99 a month. Adobe Express lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Adobe Express run on?
web, iOS and Android, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Adobe Express?
Yes, 30 days.
What file formats can Adobe Express export?
PNG, JPG and PDF, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Adobe Express’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.