Slick Write on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · editing & grammar · #8 of 10
Best for: Authors wanting free style feedback on chapters, not whole books
55.7 of 100 points = 5.6 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Slick Write’s own pages
- Yes: Grammar and spelling
- Yes: Style reports
- Yes: Fiction reports
- No: Handles a whole manuscript (no)
- Not stated: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener (not stated)
- Not stated: Custom dictionary or style rules (not stated)
- Not stated: Your text is not used for training (not stated)
Slick Write pricing
Free. There is a free plan. The plans as Slick Write’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Slick Write: Free (optional PayPal tip jar)
Free; no paid plan on the site.
What Slick Write offers
From Slick Write’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Grammar and mechanics checks: doubled words, confused words, capitals
- Style flags: passive voice, adverbs, filter words, clichés, wordiness
- Presets including Fiction, Essay and Résumé
- Sentence-type and sentence-length flow graphs
- Passive voice, prepositional phrase and readability indexes
- Word-association tool for writer's block
- Chrome and Firefox extensions
Runs on: web and browser extension. Launched: 2012.
Who Slick Write suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors wanting free style feedback on chapters, not whole books.
Not confirmed on Slick Write’s pages when we checked: handles a whole manuscript, works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener, custom dictionary or style rules and your text is not used for training. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 1,000 people a month search Google in the US for “slick write”, down 74% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Slick Write alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| ProWritingAid | 8.8 | Free plan; paid from $120 a year | Fiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback |
| Grammarly | 8.1 | Free plan; paid from $144 a year | Authors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers |
| AutoCrit | 8.0 | Free plan; paid from $180 a year | Fiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser |
| LanguageTool | 7.3 | Free plan; paid from $69.90 a year | Authors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs |
| Marlowe | 7.0 | Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-time | Novelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report |
Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors
Slick Write questions
How much does Slick Write cost?
Free.
What does Slick Write run on?
web and browser extension, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Slick Write’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.