AutoCrit on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · editing & grammar · #3 of 10 ·
Best for: Fiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser
Author jobs, from AutoCrit’s own pages
- Yes: Grammar and spelling
- Yes: Style reports
- Yes: Fiction reports
- Yes: Handles a whole manuscript
- Not stated: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener (not stated)
- Yes: Custom dictionary or style rules
- Yes: Your text is not used for training
AutoCrit pricing
Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as AutoCrit’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- Free Forever
- AutoCrit Pro Monthly: $30 a month
- AutoCrit Pro Annual: $180 a year ($15/month billed annually)
Prices from the counters on the pricing page (data-to-value 0/30/15).
What AutoCrit offers
From AutoCrit’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Summary report with an AutoCrit score and genre comparison
- 25+ editing tools: pacing, dialogue, adverbs, passive indicators, showing vs telling
- Story Analyzer+: arcs, conflict, plot threads, timeline, POV
- Automated alpha and beta reader avatars
- Customized reporting for your own crutch words
- Formatting with EPUB and print-PDF export
- Offline writing mode; reports need a connection
- Market Fuel: blurbs, keywords and promo copy
Runs on: web. Exports: EPUB and PDF (print). Works offline.
Who AutoCrit suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Fiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser.
Not confirmed on AutoCrit’s pages when we checked: works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 4,400 people a month search Google in the US for “autocrit”, down 24% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
AutoCrit alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| ProWritingAid | 8.8 | Free plan; paid from $120 a year | Fiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback |
| Grammarly | 8.1 | Free plan; paid from $144 a year | Authors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers |
| LanguageTool | 7.3 | Free plan; paid from $69.90 a year | Authors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs |
| Marlowe | 7.0 | Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-time | Novelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report |
| Hemingway Editor | 6.6 | Free plan; paid from $19.99 one-time | Writers tightening prose; one-time desktop app or AI subscription |
Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors
AutoCrit questions
How much does AutoCrit cost?
Free plan; paid from $180 a year. AutoCrit lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does AutoCrit run on?
web, according to its own site.
What file formats can AutoCrit export?
EPUB and PDF (print), according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from AutoCrit’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.