Scribens on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · editing & grammar · #7 of 12 ·
Best for: Authors wanting a free web grammar check with repetition and readability reports
Author jobs, from Scribens’s own pages
- Yes: Grammar and spelling
- Yes: Style reports
- Not stated: Fiction reports (not stated)
- No: Handles a whole manuscript (no)
- Yes: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener
- Yes: Custom dictionary or style rules
- Not stated: Your text is not used for training (not stated)
Scribens pricing
Free plan + paid plans. There is a free plan. The plans as Scribens’s own site listed them on October 14, 2026, in US dollars:
- Free (8,000 characters per day, ad-supported, daily style-request limit)
- Premium: price in USD not confirmed
- Premium: price in USD not confirmed
- Premium (annual): price in USD not confirmed
- Group subscription: price in USD not confirmed
USD not confirmed: Scribens is a French company and its Premium prices exist only in euros (the price formatter always prints EUR and PayPal is set to EUR). The Premium panel is drawn by script, so the figures come from the site's own JavaScript, not a rendered pricing page. Premium: up to 5 million characters a month, 100,000 per check.
What Scribens offers
From Scribens’s own pages, checked on October 14, 2026:
- Grammar and spelling checks with an explanation for each error
- Style analysis: repetitions, redundancies, long, heavy or unclear sentences, cliches, register shifts
- Text statistics: word count, Flesch and Gunning Fog readability, reading time, word frequency
- Configurable repetition and long-sentence thresholds
- Add-ins for Word, Google Docs, LibreOffice, OpenOffice and Outlook on Premium
- Browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox, Edge and Safari; iOS and Android apps
- Imports DOCX, ODT, PDF, TXT and HTML files
- Personal dictionary; corrects texts in 40+ languages
Runs on: web, iOS, Android and browser extension.
Who Scribens suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Authors wanting a free web grammar check with repetition and readability reports.
Not confirmed on Scribens’s pages when we checked: fiction reports, handles a whole manuscript and your text is not used for training. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 4,400 people a month search Google in the US for “scribens”, down 29% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Scribens alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| ProWritingAid | 8.8 | Free plan; paid from $120 a year | Fiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback |
| Grammarly | 8.1 | Free plan; paid from $144 a year | Authors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers |
| AutoCrit | 8.0 | Free plan; paid from $180 a year | Fiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser |
| LanguageTool | 7.3 | Free plan; paid from $69.90 a year | Authors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs |
| Marlowe | 7.0 | Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-time | Novelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report |
Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors
Scribens questions
How much does Scribens cost?
Free plan. Scribens lists 5 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Scribens run on?
web, iOS, Android and browser extension, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Scribens’s own site on October 14, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.