Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. PerfectIt

PerfectIt Review: Price, Features and Score

PerfectIt at a glance: $115 a year, on Windows and Mac. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

PerfectIt on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · editing & grammar · #11 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors and editors enforcing consistent style across a Word manuscript

BookBird Author Score5.1/10 #11 of 12 editing & grammar. Worked out from PerfectIt’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts28.6/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the editing & grammar list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when PerfectIt’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 7 confirmed = 28.6 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts11.3/25PerfectIt costs $115 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest editing & grammar product with a US price, Fictionary at $168 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $115 = 11.3 points.Adoption25 pts11.5/25Searches, 20 points: 1,300 a month for “perfectit”, against Grammarly, the most searched in this category (2,740,000), on a log scale = 9.7. Trend, 5 points: down 14% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.8; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 51.3 of 100 points= 5.1 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from PerfectIt’s own pages

  • Not stated: Grammar and spelling (not stated)
  • Not stated: Style reports (not stated)
  • Not stated: Fiction reports (not stated)
  • Yes: Handles a whole manuscript
  • Yes: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener
  • Yes: Custom dictionary or style rules
  • Yes: Your text is not used for training

PerfectIt pricing

Subscription. Free trial: 14 days. The plans as PerfectIt’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Professional: $115 a year (shown as $10/month billed annually; 1-3 users)
  • Elite: $145 a year (adds PowerPoint version)
  • Team: $155 a year (3-100 users; per-user basis not stated in captured text)
  • Enterprise: $7000 a year

USD from store.perfectit.com/pricing (store default currency usd); taxes and discount codes added at checkout.

What PerfectIt offers

From PerfectIt’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Scans a whole document for consistency errors
  • Hyphenation, capitalisation and spelling variants
  • Undefined or repeated acronyms, with an acronym table
  • Enforces your house style or a built-in style guide
  • Chicago Manual of Style checks with a CMOS Online subscription
  • List and table punctuation and numbering checks
  • Windows edition works fully offline; Cloud edition for Mac
  • PowerPoint version on Elite and above

Runs on: Windows and Mac. Works offline. Launched: 2009.

Who PerfectIt suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors and editors enforcing consistent style across a Word manuscript.

Not confirmed on PerfectIt’s pages when we checked: grammar and spelling, style reports and fiction reports. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 1,300 people a month search Google in the US for “perfectit”, down 14% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

PerfectIt alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
ProWritingAid8.8Free plan; paid from $120 a yearFiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback
Grammarly8.1Free plan; paid from $144 a yearAuthors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers
AutoCrit8.0Free plan; paid from $180 a yearFiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser
LanguageTool7.3Free plan; paid from $69.90 a yearAuthors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs
Marlowe7.0Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-timeNovelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report

Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors

PerfectIt questions

How much does PerfectIt cost?

$115 a year. PerfectIt lists 4 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does PerfectIt run on?

Windows and Mac, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of PerfectIt?

Yes, 14 days.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from PerfectIt’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.