Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Hemingway Editor

Hemingway Editor Review: Price, Features and Score

Hemingway Editor at a glance: Free plan; paid from $19.99 one-time, on web, Windows and Mac. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Hemingway Editor on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · editing & grammar · #6 of 12 ·

Best for: Writers tightening prose; one-time desktop app or AI subscription

BookBird Author Score6.6/10 #6 of 12 editing & grammar. Worked out from Hemingway Editor’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts28.6/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the editing & grammar list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Hemingway Editor’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 7 confirmed = 28.6 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts12.7/25Searches, 20 points: 12,100 a month for “hemingway editor”, against Grammarly, the most searched in this category (2,740,000), on a log scale = 12.7. Trend, 5 points: down 52% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 0; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 66.3 of 100 points= 6.6 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Hemingway Editor’s own pages

  • Yes: Grammar and spelling
  • Yes: Style reports
  • Not stated: Fiction reports (not stated)
  • Not stated: Handles a whole manuscript (not stated)
  • Yes: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener
  • Not stated: Custom dictionary or style rules (not stated)
  • Yes: Your text is not used for training

Hemingway Editor pricing

Several ways to pay, one-time option. There is a free plan. Free trial: 14 days. The plans as Hemingway Editor’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Free online editor
  • Editor Plus Individual 5K: $25 a month
  • Editor Plus Individual 5K: $100 a year
  • Editor Plus Individual 10K: $30 a month
  • Editor Plus Individual 10K: $150 a year
  • Editor Plus Team 10K: $30 a month (per user, up to 50 users)
  • Editor Plus Team 10K: $150 a year (per user)
  • Editor Plus Enterprise: price in USD not confirmed
  • Hemingway Editor 3 desktop (Classic): $19.99 one-time (Mac or Windows; no AI features)

Plus trial 2 weeks, no card. Monthly prices read from the rendered page after selecting Monthly; annual shown by default.

What Hemingway Editor offers

From Hemingway Editor’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Highlights wordy and hard-to-read sentences
  • Flags adverbs, passive voice and complicated words
  • Readability grade score with a target reading level
  • Plus: AI rewrites (5,000 or 10,000 sentences a month)
  • Plus: advanced grammar fixes and tone or length changes
  • Desktop app imports .docx and exports Word, PDF, HTML, Markdown
  • Desktop app works without an internet connection
  • One-click publishing to WordPress from desktop

Runs on: web, Windows and Mac. Exports: PDF, DOCX, HTML, Markdown and TXT. Works offline. Launched: 2013.

Who Hemingway Editor suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Writers tightening prose; one-time desktop app or AI subscription.

Not confirmed on Hemingway Editor’s pages when we checked: fiction reports, handles a whole manuscript and custom dictionary or style rules. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 12,100 people a month search Google in the US for “hemingway editor”, down 52% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Hemingway Editor alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
ProWritingAid8.8Free plan; paid from $120 a yearFiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback
Grammarly8.1Free plan; paid from $144 a yearAuthors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers
AutoCrit8.0Free plan; paid from $180 a yearFiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser
LanguageTool7.3Free plan; paid from $69.90 a yearAuthors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs
Marlowe7.0Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-timeNovelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report

Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors

Hemingway Editor questions

How much does Hemingway Editor cost?

Free plan; paid from $19.99 one-time. Hemingway Editor lists 9 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does Hemingway Editor run on?

web, Windows and Mac, according to its own site.

Is there a free trial of Hemingway Editor?

Yes, 14 days.

What file formats can Hemingway Editor export?

PDF, DOCX, HTML, Markdown and TXT, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Hemingway Editor’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.