Fictionary on the BookBird Author Score
Author Score · editing & grammar · #10 of 10
Best for: Novelists doing a structural self-edit before line editing
44.1 of 100 points = 4.4 out of 10. How this score is calculated
Author jobs, from Fictionary’s own pages
- Not stated: Grammar and spelling (not stated)
- Not stated: Style reports (not stated)
- Yes: Fiction reports
- Yes: Handles a whole manuscript
- Yes: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener
- Not stated: Custom dictionary or style rules (not stated)
- Yes: Your text is not used for training
Fictionary pricing
Subscription. Free trial: 7 days. The plans as Fictionary’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:
- StoryTeller: $19 a month
- StoryTeller: $168 a year ($14/month billed annually)
- StoryTeller Premium: $39 a month (10 manuscripts, track changes)
- StoryTeller Premium: $348 a year ($29/month billed annually)
- StoryCoach (editors): $49 a month
- StoryCoach (editors): $396 a year ($33/month billed annually)
Pricing page states all plans are in USD with a 7-day free trial, no card required.
What Fictionary offers
From Fictionary’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:
- Imports a .docx manuscript; Scrivener users compile to .docx
- Story arc visualised across the whole novel
- Scene-by-scene AI feedback on tension, conflict and scene goals
- Genre-specific novel templates and a step-by-step editing journey
- Plot, character and setting insights
- Export the edited manuscript back to .docx
- Premium: track changes, comments, up to 10 manuscripts
Runs on: web. Exports: DOCX.
Who Fictionary suits, and what its pages do not say
Best for: Novelists doing a structural self-edit before line editing.
Not confirmed on Fictionary’s pages when we checked: grammar and spelling, style reports and custom dictionary or style rules. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.
About 880 people a month search Google in the US for “fictionary”, down 23% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).
Fictionary alternatives
| Software | Score | Price from | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| ProWritingAid | 8.8 | Free plan; paid from $120 a year | Fiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback |
| Grammarly | 8.1 | Free plan; paid from $144 a year | Authors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers |
| AutoCrit | 8.0 | Free plan; paid from $180 a year | Fiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser |
| LanguageTool | 7.3 | Free plan; paid from $69.90 a year | Authors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs |
| Marlowe | 7.0 | Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-time | Novelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report |
Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors
Fictionary questions
How much does Fictionary cost?
$168 a year. Fictionary lists 6 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.
What does Fictionary run on?
web, according to its own site.
Is there a free trial of Fictionary?
Yes, 7 days.
What file formats can Fictionary export?
DOCX, according to its own site.
How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Fictionary’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.