Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. EditGPT

EditGPT Review: Price, Features and Score

EditGPT at a glance: $96 a year, on web and browser extension. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

EditGPT on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · editing & grammar · #8 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors wanting AI proofreading of a full DOCX manuscript

BookBird Author Score5.6/10 #8 of 12 editing & grammar. Worked out from EditGPT’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts28.6/50Each of the 7 author jobs on the editing & grammar list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when EditGPT’s own pages confirm it. 4 of 7 confirmed = 28.6 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts13.6/25EditGPT costs $96 a year on its cheapest plan. Free earns 25 points; the dearest editing & grammar product with a US price, Fictionary at $168 a year, keeps 5; prices in between fall in a straight line. $96 = 13.6 points.Adoption25 pts14.3/25Searches, 20 points: 1,900 a month for “editgpt”, against Grammarly, the most searched in this category (2,740,000), on a log scale = 10.2. Trend, 5 points: up 31% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 4.1; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 56.4 of 100 points= 5.6 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from EditGPT’s own pages

  • Yes: Grammar and spelling
  • Not stated: Style reports (not stated)
  • Not stated: Fiction reports (not stated)
  • Yes: Handles a whole manuscript
  • Yes: Works in Word, Google Docs or Scrivener
  • Not stated: Custom dictionary or style rules (not stated)
  • Yes: Your text is not used for training

EditGPT pricing

Subscription. The plans as EditGPT’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Pro: $15 a month (500,000 words/month)
  • Pro: $96 a year ($8/month billed annually)
  • Elite: $25 a month (3,000,000 words/month)
  • Elite: $180 a year ($15/month billed annually)
  • Business: $100 a month (unlimited words, 4 seats)
  • Business: $720 a year ($60/month billed annually)

USD on the homepage pricing block (monthly read after selecting Monthly). Site says "Get started for free" but lists no free plan or its limits.

What EditGPT offers

From EditGPT’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Edit levels from grammar fix to full rewrite
  • Import a Word file and export .docx with tracked changes
  • Up to 200,000 words per document
  • Suggestions panel to accept or reject edits
  • Save your own editing prompts
  • Revision history
  • 80+ languages with auto-detect
  • Browser extension alongside the web editor

Runs on: web and browser extension. Exports: DOCX.

Who EditGPT suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors wanting AI proofreading of a full DOCX manuscript.

Not confirmed on EditGPT’s pages when we checked: style reports, fiction reports and custom dictionary or style rules. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 1,900 people a month search Google in the US for “editgpt”, up 31% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

EditGPT alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
ProWritingAid8.8Free plan; paid from $120 a yearFiction authors wanting line edits plus whole-manuscript story feedback
Grammarly8.1Free plan; paid from $144 a yearAuthors wanting grammar checks inside Word, Google Docs and browsers
AutoCrit8.0Free plan; paid from $180 a yearFiction authors self-editing a full draft in a browser
LanguageTool7.3Free plan; paid from $69.90 a yearAuthors writing in several languages, inside Word or Google Docs
Marlowe7.0Free plan; paid from $29.95 one-timeNovelists wanting a structural critique of a full draft, per report

Compare: All editing & grammar · All software for authors

EditGPT questions

How much does EditGPT cost?

$96 a year. EditGPT lists 6 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does EditGPT run on?

web and browser extension, according to its own site.

What file formats can EditGPT export?

DOCX, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from EditGPT’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.