Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. BookBaby

BookBaby Review: Price, Features and Score

BookBaby at a glance: Not confirmed in USD, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

BookBaby on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · publishing platforms · #9 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors who prefer paying upfront for done-for-you publishing services

BookBird Author Score6.5/10 #9 of 12 publishing platforms. Worked out from BookBaby’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts33.3/50Each of the 9 author jobs on the publishing platforms list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when BookBaby’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 9 confirmed = 33.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts—No price in US dollars could be confirmed on BookBaby’s site, so Cost is left out and the score is taken over the other parts.Adoption25 pts15.5/25Searches, 20 points: 6,600 a month for “bookbaby”, against Amazon KDP, the most searched in this category (246,000), on a log scale = 14.2. Trend, 5 points: down 23% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 1.3; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 48.8 of 75 points= 6.5 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from BookBaby’s own pages

  • Yes: Ebooks
  • Yes: Paperbacks
  • Yes: Hardcovers
  • No: Free to publish (no)
  • Yes: Royalty rate stated
  • Not stated: Non-exclusive (not stated)
  • Yes: Distribution to other stores
  • Yes: Library distribution
  • No: Free ISBN (no)

No USD price could be confirmed, so Cost is left out.

BookBaby pricing

One-time licence. The plans as BookBaby’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • ISBN: $79 one-time (per format)
  • Post-distribution ebook update: $50 one-time
  • Post-distribution print update: $100 one-time (plus one printed copy at $99 + tax)

Package prices not verified: bookbaby.com shows a Cloudflare challenge. BookBaby keeps 0% of retailer ebook sales (100% of net passed on) and 15% of its own BookShop sales; print via retailers usually 10-30% royalty, 50% on BookShop.

What BookBaby offers

From BookBaby’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Ebook distribution to Amazon, Apple Books, B&N, Kobo, Gardners and 50+ more stores
  • Keeps none of the net from retailer ebook sales; 15% of its own BookShop sales
  • Library channels including OverDrive and Hoopla
  • Print-on-demand listing added to a bulk print order of at least 25 books
  • Optional KDP Select route for the first 90 days before wide distribution
  • ISBNs sold at $79 per format
  • Paid editing, cover design and formatting services
  • Partner Program pays referrers 10% of a referred author's first project

Runs on: web. Needs an internet connection. Launched: 2011.

Who BookBaby suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors who prefer paying upfront for done-for-you publishing services.

Not confirmed on BookBaby’s pages when we checked: free to publish, non-exclusive and free ISBN. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 6,600 people a month search Google in the US for “bookbaby”, down 23% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

BookBaby alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Amazon KDP9.9No upfront feeAuthors selling mainly on Amazon, including Kindle Unlimited readers
IngramSpark9.6No upfront feeAuthors wanting print books in bookstores and libraries beyond Amazon
Lulu9.2No upfront feeAuthors selling print books direct to readers as well as on Amazon
Draft2Digital7.9$12 a yearAuthors going wide with ebooks who accept a small activation fee
Blurb7.8No upfront feeIllustrated and photo-heavy books sold in print

Compare: All publishing platforms · All software for authors

BookBaby questions

How much does BookBaby cost?

Not confirmed in USD. BookBaby lists 3 plans; the full list is under Pricing above.

What does BookBaby run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from BookBaby’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.