Skip to content
All free tools
  1. Home
  2. Software
  3. Barnes & Noble Press

Barnes & Noble Press Review: Price, Features and Score

Barnes & Noble Press at a glance: No upfront fee, on web. Below are its plans, what its own site says it does for an author, its score and the products to compare it with. We did not test it ourselves; the data was checked on October 7, 2026.

Prices and data checked October 7, 2026 · Author Score computed by a published formula, not paid for

Barnes & Noble Press on the BookBird Author Score

Author Score · publishing platforms · #6 of 12 ·

Best for: Authors adding a direct Barnes & Noble listing alongside other stores

BookBird Author Score7.7/10 #6 of 12 publishing platforms. Worked out from Barnes & Noble Press’s own pages, its price and US searches for its name, not typed in. Author jobs50 pts33.3/50Each of the 9 author jobs on the publishing platforms list is worth an equal share of 50 points, and counts only when Barnes & Noble Press’s own pages confirm it. 6 of 9 confirmed = 33.3 points. A job the vendor does not mention earns nothing.Cost25 pts25/25A free plan, or a platform that takes no upfront fee, earns all 25 points.Adoption25 pts18.3/25Searches, 20 points: 14,800 a month for “barnes and noble press”, against Amazon KDP, the most searched in this category (246,000), on a log scale = 15.5. Trend, 5 points: up 7% (last three months against the first three of the year) = 2.9; a fall of half or more earns 0, no change 2.5, a rise of half or more 5. 76.7 of 100 points= 7.7 out of 10 The full method, with every product’s points →

Author jobs, from Barnes & Noble Press’s own pages

  • Yes: Ebooks
  • Yes: Paperbacks
  • Yes: Hardcovers
  • Yes: Free to publish
  • Yes: Royalty rate stated
  • Yes: Non-exclusive
  • No: Distribution to other stores (no)
  • Not stated: Library distribution (not stated)
  • Not stated: Free ISBN (not stated)

Barnes & Noble Press pricing

The platform takes a share of sales. There is a free plan. The plans as Barnes & Noble Press’s own site listed them on October 7, 2026, in US dollars:

  • Publishing account: Free

Free to publish, "no hidden fees". Ebooks: flat 70% of list price on BN.com. Print royalty percentage not confirmed (help centre blocked).

What Barnes & Noble Press offers

From Barnes & Noble Press’s own pages, checked on October 7, 2026:

  • Ebooks, paperbacks and hardcovers, in colour or black and white
  • Flat 70% ebook royalty on BN.com
  • No exclusivity required
  • Ebooks go live in about 72 hours, print in about 96 hours
  • Payments 30 days after purchase (since 2021)
  • Marketing slots on BN.com, email and social for selected titles

Runs on: web. Needs an internet connection.

Who Barnes & Noble Press suits, and what its pages do not say

Best for: Authors adding a direct Barnes & Noble listing alongside other stores.

Not confirmed on Barnes & Noble Press’s pages when we checked: distribution to other stores, library distribution and free ISBN. That is what the vendor states, not a test; a feature can exist without being described, and the score only credits what is.

About 14,800 people a month search Google in the US for “barnes and noble press”, up 7% over the past year (Google Ads data via DataForSEO).

Barnes & Noble Press alternatives

SoftwareScorePrice fromBest for
Amazon KDP9.9No upfront feeAuthors selling mainly on Amazon, including Kindle Unlimited readers
IngramSpark9.6No upfront feeAuthors wanting print books in bookstores and libraries beyond Amazon
Lulu9.2No upfront feeAuthors selling print books direct to readers as well as on Amazon
Draft2Digital7.9$12 a yearAuthors going wide with ebooks who accept a small activation fee
Blurb7.8No upfront feeIllustrated and photo-heavy books sold in print

Compare: All publishing platforms · All software for authors

Barnes & Noble Press questions

How much does Barnes & Noble Press cost?

No upfront fee.

What does Barnes & Noble Press run on?

web, according to its own site.

How the score is computed: the formula, step by step. Prices and features were read from Barnes & Noble Press’s own site on October 7, 2026; nobody pays to be listed.